Stage 2 Groups Start At Homeless World Cup

Chile, India, Kyrgyz Republic and Mexico were group winners in the first stage of the Homeless World Cup in Oslo, with England and Republic of Ireland among the runners-up.

India topped Group A with a perfect record from their 4 games, with Kenya second, followed by Scotland, Northern Ireland and USA. The Scots hit the Irish 11-1, having only been 1-0 up at half-time.

Mexico won Group B after 4 straight wins, 3 points ahead of Republic of Ireland. Greece and Netherlands finished ahead of Wales, who were unable to register a point.

Chile completed a 100% record in Group C, 3 points better than England. Norway and Sweden were third and fourth respectively, with Belgium last.

Kyrgyz Republic took the Group D top spot, ahead of France, Egypt and Hungary.

Thursday 1st September sees the start of Stage 2 group fixtures, with the most successful teams having the chance to compete for the senior trophies.

In an abbreviated day’s action, matches begin late afternoon:

17:20 – Norway v Egypt, Republic of Ireland v Kyrgyz Republic, Kenya v Chile
17:40 – England v India, France v Mexico, Scotland v Greece
19:20 – Belgium v Northern Ireland, Norway Reserves v Netherlands
19:40 – USA v Sweden, Wales v Hungary

Live stream on youtube

Pictured – The Kyrgyz Republic squad (@homelesswrldcup)

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter