Pauw picks Republic of Ireland Women’s squad for Iceland trip

Republic of Ireland players with Vera Pauw
Photo: Brian Lawless via Imago

Republic of Ireland Women’s manager Vera Pauw has selected a 23-player squad for the international friendly double-header away to Iceland.

The two games – which will be live on the RTÉ Player – will serve as Pauw’s third and fourth friendly matches and help continue preparations for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup qualifiers, which start in September, reports

Pauw has recalled midfielders Ciara Grant and Roma McLaughlin, the former having stood out for Shelbourne since resuming her playing career last year after spending time to focus on becoming a doctor, the latter who was recently selected to the Division 1 Women’s Soccer All-America Third Team for the second successive year.

One of the eight WNL players included in the squad is Shelbourne’s Saoirse Noonan, who had previously been named to provisional selections but will be part of the set-up for the first time.

Injuries rule out goalkeeper Marie Hourihan, midfielders Ruesha Littlejohn and Ellen Molloy, as well as forwards Leanne Kiernan, Kyra Carusa and Emily Whelan. Meanwhile, Harriet Scott and Julie-Ann Russell are both unavailable.

The squad will depart for Reykjavik on Sunday via a chartered flight, for the 6pm kick offs on 11 & 15 June.

Republic of Ireland WNT Squad

Goalkeepers: Grace Moloney (Reading), Courtney Brosnan (Unattached), Eve Badana (DLR Waves)

Defenders: Keeva Keenan (Celtic), Claire O’Riordan (MSV Duisburg), Niamh Farrelly (Glasgow City), Louise Quinn (Fiorentina), Diane Caldwell (North Carolina Courage), Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Claire Walsh (Peamount United), Éabha O’Mahony (Cork City), Áine O’Gorman (Peamount United)

Midfielders: Jamie Finn (Shelbourne), Denise O’Sullivan (North Carolina Courage), Megan Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ciara Grant (Shelbourne), Roma McLaughlin (Connecticut Fusion), Jessica Ziu (Shelbourne), Katie McCabe (Arsenal)

Forwards: Heather Payne (Florida State University), Rianna Jarrett (Unattached), Amber Barrett (FC Koln), Saoirse Noonan (Shelbourne)

#PFAawards: Barclays FA WSL Team of the Year revealed

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter