2023-24 Women’s County Leagues Round-Up (2/3)

Richmond & Kew celebrate after thier 2-1 win over nearest challengers Comets
Richmond & Kew celebrate after their 2-1 win over nearest challengers Comets. (Photo: www.jamesprickett.co.uk)

The second of our end-of-season runs through the title winners in the many Women’s County Leagues takes us from East Riding to Liverpool.

East Riding

North Ferriby were Division 1 winners by seven points from AFC Preston, Pinefleet Wolfreton a further point behind but with their last game unplayed. Hessle Rangers won 11 of 12 matches to take the Division 2 title but only by a couple of points from Costello Ladies. South Cave won all their seven fixtures in the Development League, in which Malet Lambert were second.


Chelmsford City were Premier Division champions three points in front of Harlow-based Frontiers, with both promoted to the Eastern League. Southminster won the Division 1 title race by five points from Chigwell, Colchester United took maximum points from 20 games in Division 2 and Sudbury Sports were a distant second. Leigh United also boasted a 100% record but from 14 games in Division 3, Stanway Pegasus Reserves the runners-up.


South West League-bound Cirencester Town comfortably clinched Division 1 with Cheltenham Civil Service their closest rivals, Longlevens beat Gloucester City Development to pole position in Division 2, while Bitton bagged Division 3 ahead of City of Gloucester.

Greater London

Regional league-bound Richmond & Kew topped the Premier by four points from both Comets and Leyton Orient, Brentford ‘B’ beat Luton Town Reserves to the Division 1 North top spot, South London finished one point ahead of AFC Wimbledon Development in the 1 South title race. Regents Park Rangers were 2 North champions and East Finchley took the second promotion spot, 2 South & Central was won by AFC Croydon Athletic with United Dragons following them up.

Greater Manchester

The leading pair in the Premier were separated by a single point as Atherton Laburnum Rovers pipped Athletico Middleton to the title and are headed for the North West League. Division 1 was far more clear cut with Manchester Laces only dropping two points to finish 13 ahead of AFC Bolton, Lymm Rovers won Division 2 with a nine-point advantage over Swinton.


Bursledon finished first in Division 1 in front of AFC Varsity, with both going up to the Southern League. Division 2 champions were Millbrook with Andover New Street pipping both AFC Stoneham Reserves and Mudeford Phoenix to the runners-up spot by one point. Farnborough beat City Ladies Portsmouth to the Division 3 top spot, with Wight Eagles a point further back in third. The Division 4 title went to AFC Totton with Pace second, Winchester City Swans won Division 5 by two points from Clanfield and in Division 6 Eling ended in pole position and Farnborough Development second.

Farnborough v Havant & Waterlooville, Hampshire Women's League
Division 3 champions Farnborough (yellow) completed their first ever season with a 4-0 win over Havant & Waterlooville.  (Photo: www.jamesprickett.co.uk)

Canada Life Isle of Man

Corinthians won the two-horse title-race by a measure of ten on goal-difference over Peel.


Rozel Rovers ran out champions by three points from Jersey Wanderers in the three-team league.


Wigan Athletic missed out on just a couple of points in comfortably winning the Premier from Accrington Stanley Reserves, their Development team took the Championship title ahead of Whitehaven. Chipping and Rosegrove were first and second respectively in Division 1 North/West, unbeaten Lostock St Gerards topped the Division 1 South/East table with Blackburn CSC Reserves runners-up. Blackpool Football Therapy topped the Recreational Division, St Annes Eagles could take second from AFC Bolton.


River City had 17 wins and a draw in securing the Division 1 title, Brookside Athletic with the next best record. Gresley Rovers lifted the Division 2 trophy and East Goscote United took second place.


Cleethorpes Town won the North Division with a five-point lead over Market Rasen Town, Wyberton Wildcats won the South Division finishing three points better off than HBW United.


Wirral Phoenix were Division 1 winners and MSB Woolton second, both will be playing in the North West League next season. Maghull topped Division 2 with FC Northern taking the second promotion place, Formby and Rainford the two coming up from Division 3.

Draw made for FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup 2024

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter