2023-24 Women’s County Leagues Round-Up (3/3)

Easington Sports v Thame United (Thames Valley League Plate Final
Easington Sports added the Thames Valley League Plate to their . (Photo: www.jamesprickett.co.uk)

Our third and final look at the County Women’s Leagues at the end of the 2023-24 campaign begins in the Midwest Counties and finishes in Wiltshire.

Midwest Counties

Bromsgrove Sporting Development only dropped a couple of points in clinching the Division 1 title ahead of Malvern Town, Stourbridge Development ended top of Division 2 by six points from Hereford FC.

North Riding

York City U-23s were winners of the 14-team, 26-game Premier Division with just three points dropped. Guisborough Town were 11 points behind in second position but still ten ahead of the third-placed side.

North Riding League champions, York City U-23s
York City U-23s. (Photo: @YorkCityLFC)


Bungay Town secured the Division 1 title by seven points from Sprowston, Bure Valley topped Division 2 by a single point from Stalham Town after 24 matches.


Bugbrooke St.Michael beat Long Buckby to the Premier Division crown by two points, both are going up to the East Midlands League. Division 1 champions Crick Athletic finished five ahead of runners-up Corby Town.


i2i International Soccer Academy took 46 points from a possible 48 to clinch the Premier Division crown and promotion to the North East League, while Newcastle East End had to settle for second. Berwick Rangers boasted a perfect record from 22 games, Morpeth Town ended as runners-up.


Arnold Eagles Flyers were first in Division 1 and Newark Town second. Division 2 was won by University of Nottingham, Blidworth Welfare and Lowdham were joint second. Southwell City won all 14 games in Division 3 with Woodhouse runners-up.

Sheffield & Hallamshire

North East League-bound Brunsmeer Athletic missed out on only two points in 66 as they won Division 1 ahead of Kiveton Park, Hemsworth Miners Welfare topped Division 2 where Millmoor Development were runners-up. Mexborough Athletic beat both Charnock Ridgeway and Maltby to the Division 3 title by three points, Division 4 was won by Mind Over Matter while AFC Pogmoor were second.


AFC Telford United Reserves were unbeaten in 20 games during their league title-winning season, as Worthen picked up the runners-up trophy.


Yeovil Town are headed for the South West League after winning all 18 games to coast to the Division 1 title ahead of Barwell, who were second with a better goal-difference than Wells City. Weston super Mare Reserves won Division 2 North followed by Bath City Development, Yeovil also won 2 South with their Development team by five points from Pen Mill Reserves.

South East Counties

Gillingham-based XL Academy won the Premier Division, with Tunbridge Wells Foresters taking the runners-up spot. The Surrey Premier title went to Leatherhead ahead of Epsom & Ewell, with the Tanners promoted to the London & South East League. Surrey Division 1 title went to Crawley AFC Development and Old Tiffinians were second. In Kent Division 1 East it was Kings Hill on top and Betteshanger Welfare behind them, Kent Division 1 West topped by Cray Wanderers with Tonbridge Angels the next best side. Kent Division 2 Central winners were Hollands & Blair ahead of Sittingbourne Reserves, Kent Division 2 East title was bagged by Biddenden who saw off nearest rivals Margate Development, while in Kent Division 2 West it was Long Lane in pole position followed by Foots Cray Lionesses.

Hednesford Town pipped Eccleshall to the Premier Division title by just one point, while Milton United won all 15 games to beat Port Vale Reserves to the Division 1 top spot.


Premiership winners were Brantham Athletic and runners-up Stowupland Falcons, after 22 games in the Championship Capel Plough beat Bury Town to the title.


Saltdean United Development won the Premier Division by a 12-point margin over Eastbourne Borough, Winners of Division 1 were Worthing Town, East Preston and Eastbourne Borough Development ended joint second.

Thames Valley Counties

Tilehurst Panthers won 19 games and drew the other to taking the Division 1 title ahead of Larkspur Rovers, Barton United were two points better off than Wallingford & Crowmarsh at the top of Division 2. Division 3 North went to Easington Sports by 11 points from Thame United, 3 South champions were Yateley United by two points from Finchampstead Wantage Town winning 3 West ahead of Headington with 19 victories in 20 games. Rotherfield United beat Berks County to the Development Division pole position by just the one point after 22 matches.

Easington Sports v Thame United (Thames Valley League Plate Final
Thame United’s Ailsa Milne and Sophie Lester of winners Easington Sports during the Plate Final. (Photo: www.jamesprickett.co.uk)

West Riding

Premier Division champions Leeds Modernians were unbeaten and now step up to the regional leagues, Leeds Medics & Dentists were second by a measure of six on goal-difference from Skipton Town. First Division winners were Ilkley Town, Farsley Celtic runners-up by a point from Leeds Hyde Park. The Second Division title was secured by Knaresborough Town with Bradford City U-21s following them up, topping the Third Division was unbeaten Bradford-based Field Sports in front of Skipton Town Development, Eccleshill United and Brighouse Town both won 19 of their 20 Fourth Division games with the former champions with a far better goal-difference.


Champions Corsham Town are Southern League-bound with a 100% record from 22 games, as the runners-up spot went to Bemerton Heath Harlequins.

2023-24 Women’s County Leagues Round-Up (2/3)

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter