Wales squad for opening pair of UEFA Women’s EURO qualifiers

UEFA Womens Nations League - Wales v Iceland - Cardiff City Stadium
Jess Fishlock is two games short of becoming Wales’ first player to reach 150 caps. (James Whitehead / SPP)

Rhian Wilkinson has announced her 26-player squad as Wales get their UEFA Women’s EURO qualifying campaign underway against Croatia at Wrexham on Friday 5 April.

Jess Fishlock is in line to become Wales’ first ever 150-capped player should she play in both matches, and Rhian Wilkinson has a strong squad available for her first matches in charge of the side, including centurions Sophie Ingle and Angharad James.

Safia Middleton-Patel and Carrie Jones are unavailable due to injury, but Wilkinson has selected five youngsters for their first full senior camp; Soffia Kelly, Mayzee Davies, Elena Cole, Mared Griffiths and Ania Denham.

The opening game of the campaign will see Cymru return to the STōK Cae Ras in Wrexham for the first time since March 2020 when they take on Croatia on Friday 5 April (KO 19:15). Following the fixture, Cymru will then travel to Kosovo for their second fixture on Tuesday 9 April at the Zahir Pajaziti Stadium in Podujevo (KO 13:00 BST).

Tickets for the match at Wrexham are available to purchase on the FAW ticketing website, priced at £10 for adults and £5 for children, with discounts available for Red Wall members.

Wales: Olivia CLARK (Bristol City), Laura O’SULLIVAN (Cardiff City Ladies), Soffia KELLY (FAW Girls Academy South), Rhiannon ROBERTS (Real Betis), Charlie ESTCOURT (Reading), Josie GREEN (Leicester City), Hayley LADD (Manchester United), Gemma EVANS (Manchester United), Mayzee DAVIES (Manchester United), Lily WOODHAM (Seattle Reign), Ella POWELL (Bristol City), Sophie INGLE (Chelsea), Alice GRIFFITHS (Southampton), Angharad JAMES (Seattle Reign), Elena COLE (FAW Girls Academy South), Lois JOEL (London City Lionesses), Rachel ROWE (Rangers), Ffion MORGAN (Bristol City), Jess FISHLOCK (Seattle Reign), Ceri HOLLAND (Liverpool), Ellen JONES (Sunderland), Elise HUGHES (Crystal Palace), Mary MCATEER (Sunderland), Kayleigh BARTON (Charlton Athletic), Mared GRIFFITHS (FAW Girls Academy North), Ania DENHAM (Wolverhampton Wanderers).

Anna Patten included in Republic of Ireland Women’s squad

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter