Wales and Republic of Ireland Paired in UEFA WU17 Qualifiers


The 2018/19 UEFA European Women’s U-17 Championship qualifying round draw was made this morning, with 44 sides from the record entry of 47 beginning their bids to join hosts Bulgaria in the final tournament.

While  Republic of Ireland and Wales were group with Serbia and Albania,  England will meet Iceland, Azerbaijan and Moldova, Scotland drew Poland, Slovakia and Lithuania, while Northern Ireland face Switzerland, Greece and Kazakhstan.

Group 1: Czech Republic, Denmark, Ukraine, Faroe Islands

Group 2: Norway, Russia, Croatia, Israel

Group 3: Italy, Finland, Romania, Montenegro

Group 4: Scotland, Poland, Slovakia, Lithuania

Group 5: England, Iceland, Azerbaijan, Moldova

Group 6: Belgium, Portugal, Turkey, Andorra

Group 7: Republic of Ireland, Serbia, Wales, Albania

Group 8: Austria, Belarus, Slovenia, Estonia

Group 9: Switzerland, Greece, Northern Ireland, Kazakhstan

Group 10: France, Hungary, Bosnia and Herzegovina, FYR Macedonia

Group 11: Netherlands, Sweden, Latvia, Georgia

Bye to elite round: Germany, Spain

Bye to final tournament: Bulgaria (hosts)

Mini-tournaments are provisionally scheduled between 1 August and 28 October 2018.

The top two sides in every group plus the two third-placed teams with the best record against the top two in their section join Spain and France in the elite round draw on 23 November 2018, with the games in spring 2019.

Seven teams will eventually qualify for the finals to join Bulgaria.

The Elite Round draw for the current season’s competition is being made later this morning.

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter