Republic of Ireland squad for #WEURO2022 qualifier versus Germany

Saoirse Noonan receives first Ireland call-up
Cork City’s Saoirse Noonan earns a first senior call-up. (PA Images)

Republic of Ireland manager Vera Pauw has confirmed a 31-player squad for their final Women’s Euro qualifying group game.

They host group winners Germany on Tuesday 1 December at Tallaght Stadium (5pn – live on RTE2), as they chase a Qualifying Play-Off place, reports

Cork City’s Saoirse Noonan earns a first senior call-up following her impressive recent form that saw her score twice in the FAI Women’s Senior Cup Semi-Final victory over Treaty United.

Noonan’s inclusion means that all three of this season’s Barretstown / Women’s National League Player of the Month recipients have been recognised, as Wexford Youths’ Ellen Molloy and Shelbourne’s Jessica Ziu are also named.

The players will report into camp on Sunday 22 November, when the squad will be cut back ahead of the first training session at the FAI National Training Centre.

Germany have already been confirmed as Group I winners, which means that the runner-up spot and a Qualifying Play-Off is now between second-placed Ireland (13 points) and third-placed Ukraine (12 points).

Pauw’s team currently hold a better goal difference, so they need to equal or better Ukraine’s result against Montenegro in order to seal second spot.

Republic of Ireland WNT Squad

Goalkeepers: Marie Hourihan (SC Braga), Courtney Brosnan (West Ham), Grace Moloney (Reading), Niamh Reid-Burke (Peamount Utd)

Defenders: Harriet Scott (Reading), Keeva Keenan (Celtic), Claire Walsh (Peamount Utd), Louise Quinn (Fiorentina), Diane Caldwell (SC Sand), Claire O’Riordan (MSV Duisburg), Eabha O’Mahony (Cork City), Isibeal Atkinson (Shelbourne), Aine O’Gorman (Peamount Utd)

Midfielders: Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Jamie Finn (Shelbourne), Denise O’Sullivan (Brighton – on loan from NC Courage), Alli Murphy (London City Lionesses), Niamh Farrelly (Peamount Utd), Megan Connolly (Brighton), Hayley Nolan (London City Lionesses), Ruesha Littlejohn (Leicester City), Ellen Molloy (Wexford Youths), Jessica Ziu (Shelbourne), Emily Whelan (Shelbourne)

Forwards: Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Heather Payne (Florida State University), Leanne Kiernan (West Ham), Amber Barrett (FC Koln), Rianna Jarrett (Brighton), Kyra Carusa (HB Hoge), Saoirse Noonan (Cork City)

BT Sport makes Saturday’s #FAWSL Manchester derby free to all

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter