Sarah Robson retains NEFWA Women’s Player of the Year award

NEFWA Women’s Player of the Year, Sarah Robson
Will Matthews/SPP

Durham’s Northern Ireland international Sarah Robson is the North East Football Writers’ Association Women’s Player of the Year for 2022.

Robson is one of the linchpins of the Durham side and the 35-year-old is in her seventh season with the Wildcats after a brief spell with Sunderland, and has enjoyed a landmark 12 months that saw her compete in last summer’s Women’s European Championships with Northern Ireland.

Robson, who plays under her maiden name McFadden for her country, has won 87 caps and scored three goals for Durham this season, including a dramatic late equaliser against Manchester United in the Continental Cup.

Last year’s winner Robson retained the trophy – first awarded to England star and BBC Sports Personality of the Year Beth Mead – after narrowly beating Sunderland’s Neve Herron and her Durham team-mate and fellow double winner Beth Hepple, who was third.

NEFWA secretary Colin Young said: “After another exciting year for North East football …. Sarah Robson’s Women’s award underlines the way in which Durham continue to be a great footballing story for the region.”

Further award winners, including the NEFWA Young Player of the Year, plus the recipients of the prestigious John Fotheringham and Bob Cass Awards, for outstanding service to North East football, will be announced in due course with the awards night in March.

Electric Ireland Women’s Challenge Cup dates set

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter