Republic of Ireland Women’s squad for last two Nations League games

Ireland's midfielder Ruesha Littlejohn returns to the squad
Ireland midfielder Ruesha Littlejohn returns to the squad. (Photo by PATRICK HAMILTON/AFP via Getty Images)

Interim head coach Eileen Gleeson has picked 26 players for Republic of Ireland’s final two games in their UEFA Women’s Nations League group.

There is a first call-up for Peamount United forward Ellen Dolan, the SSE Airtricity Women’s Premier Division Player of the Month for October / November. The 17-year-old, from Offaly, scored seven goals to finish as joint second top goalscorer for league-winning Peamount.

Both Jessie Stapleton and Ruesha Littlejohn return to the squad, while a number of players were not included due to still being on return to play procedures at their respective clubs following long-term injuries.

Ireland have already secured top spot in Group B1, which triggers promotion to League A in the Nations League, but they are keen to end the campaign with six straight wins.

The players will report into camp on Monday 27 November and begin preparations for the two games with training at the FAI National Training Centre.

Ireland host Hungary on Friday 1 December at Tallaght Stadium (KO 7,30pm) and then visit Northern Ireland on Tuesday 5 December at Windsor Park (KO 6pm), with both games live on RTÉ2.

Ireland WNT Squad

Goalkeepers: Courtney Brosnan (Everton), Grace Moloney (London City Lionesses), Sophie Whitehouse (Lewes)

Defenders: Caitlin Hayes (Celtic), Louise Quinn (Birmingham City), Diane Caldwell (FC Zurich), Hayley Nolan (Crystal Palace), Jessie Stapleton (West Ham United), Chloe Mustaki (Bristol City)

Midfielders: Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Denise O’Sullivan (North Carolina Courage), Megan Connolly (Bristol City), Jamie Finn (Birmingham City), Sinead Farrelly (NJ/NY Gotham), Ruesha Littlejohn (London City Lionesses), Lily Agg (Birmingham City), Tyler Toland (Blackburn Rovers), Lucy Quinn (Birmingham City), Heather Payne (Everton), Izzy Atkinson (West Ham United)

Forwards: Kyra Carusa (San Diego Wave), Abbie Larkin (Glasgow City), Erin McLaughlin (Peamount United), Saoirse Noonan (Durham WFC), Emily Whelan (Glasgow City), Ellen Dolan (Peamount United)

Rooks reimagine Reubens’ The Three Graces with three of their own

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter