Republic of Ireland Women’s squad selected for Georgia trip

Republic of Ireland squad selected for WWC qualifiers
Photo by Oisin Keniry/Getty Images

Republic of Ireland will take 27 players to Georgia for their next 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup qualifying game on Monday 27 June, reports,

Head coach Vera Pauw has given a first senior call-up to goalkeeper Naoisha McAloon, while defender Diane Caldwell returns after missing the draw away to Sweden in April.

Stephanie Roche is recalled to the squad for the first time since November 2019, when she earned her 55th senior cap in the draw away to Greece.

The Wexford Youths duo of Aoibheann Clancy and Ellen Molloy are unavailable due to sitting their Leaving Certificate exams, while injuries rule out Savannah McCarthy, Megan Campbell, Aoife Colvill, Rianna Jarrett, Leanne Kiernan and Kyra Carusa.

There are seven current SSE Airtricity Women’s National League players included, while another 10 players previously featured in the League.

In order to build up the players’ fitness, with most now in their off-season, Pauw recently organised two games against boys’ teams to replace the regular Home-Based Training Sessions at the FAI National Training Centre.

The squad will depart Dublin on Wednesday afternoon – after undergoing a light training session – headed for Antalya, Turkey for a training camp. On Sunday 19 June they take on Philippines in an International Friendly game, which will be live streamed on FAI TV at 4pm.

On Saturday 25 June, Ireland will arrive in Tbilisi to step up preparations for the qualifier against Georgia, which will be live on RTÉ2 and worldwide on the RTÉ Player (KO 5pm).

Republic of Ireland squad

Goalkeepers: Courtney Brosnan (Everton), Megan Walsh (Brighton & Hove Albion), Grace Moloney (Reading), Naoisha McAloon (Durham)

Defenders: Jess Ziu (Shelbourne), Louise Quinn (Birmingham City), Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Diane Caldwell (Manchester United), Claire O’Riordan (MSV Duisburg), Jessie Stapleton (Shelbourne), Éabha O’Mahony (Boston College), Áine O’Gorman (Peamount United), Chloe Mustaki (Shelbourne)

Midfielders: Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Denise O’Sullivan (North Carolina Courage), Megan Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ruesha Littlejohn (Aston Villa), Jamie Finn (Birmingham City), Ciara Grant (Hearts), Lily Agg (London City Lionesses), Roma McLaughlin (Connecticut Fusion), Lucy Quinn (Birmingham City)

Forwards: Heather Payne (Florida State University), Amber Barrett (FC Koln), Abbie Larkin (Shelbourne), Stephanie Roche (Peamount United), Saoirse Noonan (Shelbourne)

First time finalists in SWF League Cup

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter