Republic of Ireland WNT squad for crucial clash in Ukraine

Republic of Ireland players before Germany game
Republic of Ireland players before the #WEURO2022 qualifier in Germany. (Daniela Porcelli / SPP / PA Images)

Republic of Ireland have finalised their squad for Friday’s crucial UEFA Women’s European Championship qualifier away to Ukraine.

A draw or a win for Vera Pauw’s team – against the side they narrowly beat 3-2 last year – would secure a play-off spot with one game still to go – at home to Germany on 1 December.

Goalkeeper Marie Hourihan misses out due to a dislocated finger, while some players are on standby ahead of the squad meeting up in Duisburg, Germany for a training camp ahead of the game.

The game will be broadcast live on RTE2 at 5pm.

Republic of Ireland squad

Goalkeepers: Courtney Brosnan (West Ham United), Grace Moloney (Reading), Niamh Reid-Burke (Peamount United)

Defenders: Harriet Scott (Reading), Keeva Keenan (Celtic), Louise Quinn (Fiorentina), Diane Caldwell (SC Sand), Claire O’Riordan (MSV Duisburg), Aine O’Gorman (Peamount United)

Midfielders: Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Jamie Finn (Shelbourne), Denise O’Sullivan (Brighton & Hove Albion – on loan from NC Courage), Alli Murphy (London City Lionesses), Niamh Farrelly (Peamount United), Megan Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion), Hayley Nolan (London City Lionesses), Ruesha Littlejohn (Leicester City), Ellen Molloy (Wexford Youths)

Forwards: Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Heather Payne (Florida State University), Leanne Kiernan (West Ham United), Amber Barrett (FC Koln), Rianna Jarrett (Brighton & Hove Albion), Kyra Carusa (HB Hoge)

#FIFAWWC2023: Host cities selection process begins

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter