Republic of Ireland WNT squad named for USA game

Heather Payne returns to the senior squad. (Photo: @FAIreland)

A 20-player Republic of Ireland squad has been selected to take on World Champions the USA on August 3.

The squad travels to California on Monday 29 July, with former Head Coach Colin Bell’s assistant Tom O’Connor managing the team for the game.

There are five changes to the squad that faced Italy in April, with Denise O’Sullivan and Megan Campbell ruled out due to club commitments.

Heather Payne comes back into the fold having missed the Italy game to bolster the U-19 squad in the European Elite Round tournament.

Interim manager Tom O’Connor told “It has been a quick turnaround, but the offer to play the World Cup winners at the Rose Bowl was one the association couldn’t turn down. It will be a fantastic opportunity for the players. It’s set to be a great experience for them and one where they can test themselves against the best in the world.

“It’s a bonus to have the squad back together for an extra game ahead of that important fixture, and to get some extra training sessions in too. It’s all good preparation for the Euro qualifiers.”

FAI High Performance Director Ruud Dokter said: “Tom O’Connor is taking the team as interim manager and as a coach under the previous manager he knows the team very well. We are in the process of appointing a new manager, which we intend to do very soon. We want to have the new manager in position before the European Championship qualifier in September.”

Republic of Ireland WNT squad v USA

Goalkeepers: Marie Hourihan (SC Braga), Grace Moloney (Reading)

Defenders: Harriet Scott (Birmingham City), Louise Quinn (Arsenal), Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Diane Caldwell (SC Sand), Claire O’Riordan (MSV Duisburg), Eabha O’Mahony (Cork City), Megan Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion), Lauren Dwyer (Wexford Youths),

Midfielders: Tyler Toland (Kildrum Tigers), Niamh Farrelly (Peamount United), Eleanor Ryan-Doyle (Peamount United), Jess Gargan (Shelbourne), Claire Walsh (Peamount United)

Forwards: Amber Barrett (FC Köln), Emily Whelan (Shelbourne), Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Rianna Jarrett (Wexford Youths), Heather Payne (Florida State University)

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter