Pauw picks Republic of Ireland Women’s squad for Greece game

Vera Pauw selects Republic of Ireland squad for Greece game

Republic of Ireland manager Vera Pauw has announced a 24-player squad for the UEFA Women’s EURO 2021 qualifier away to Greece next week.

The qualifier, which will be Ireland’s third in the campaign, will take place in Panionios, Athens on Tuesday 12 November, with kick-off set for 1pm (3pm local time), reports

Midfielder Denise O’Sullivan, who recently helped North Carolina Courage retain their NWSL title in the United States, is included along with three players who have qualified for the quarter-finals of the UEFA Women’s Champions League (Louise Quinn, Katie McCabe, Clare Shine).

Wexford Youths forward Rianna Jarrett is also part of the squad following last Sunday’s triumph in the Só Hotels FAI Women’s Cup Final at Aviva Stadium, while seven other home-based players have been called up.

Ireland sit second in Group I following wins over Montenegro and Ukraine with five goals scored and two conceded. This next game, against Greece, will be the final fixture of 2019 before action resumes in March 2020 with a double header (home to Greece, away to Montenegro).

The squad will meet up on Wednesday 6 November to begin preparations for the game before flying to Greece on Sunday ahead of Tuesday’s qualifier.

Republic of Ireland Squad

Goalkeepers: Marie Hourihan (SC Braga), Grace Moloney (Reading), Niamh Reid Burke (Peamount United)

Defenders: Keeva Keenan (Celtic), Diane Caldwell (SC Sand), Claire Walsh (Peamount United), Claire O’Riordan (MSV Duisburg), Louise Quinn (Arsenal), Chloe Mustaki (Shelbourne), Eabha O’Mahony (Cork City WFC)

Midfielders: Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Denise O’Sullivan (North Carolina Courage), Stephanie Roche (CF Florentia), Tyler Toland (Manchester City), Hayley Nolan (University of Hartford), Jessica Ziu (Shelbourne), Jamie Finn (Shelbourne)

Forwards: Rianna Jarrett (Wexford Youths), Leanne Kiernan (West Ham United), Amber Barrett (FC Koln), Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Julie-Ann Russell (Sydney University), Emily Whelan (Shelbourne), Clare Shine (Glasgow City)

#WEURO2021 Qualifiers: Record crowd for Republic of Ireland 

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter