Pauw names Republic of Ireland Women’s squad for play-off push

FAI Women's head coach Vera Pauw picks squad for fila world cup qualifiers
Sa¡enz Molina / SPP

Republic of Ireland manager Vera Pauw has selected 28 players for the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup qualifiers against Finland and Slovakia.

Ireland will host Finland in Tallaght Stadium on Thursday 1 September in front of what is expected to be a record crowd, after tickets for the game sold out in just 30 minutes, reports

A flight to Bratislava will then follow a few days later as Ireland take on Slovakia on Tuesday 6 September in their final qualifying game in Group A.

After recently moving up to their highest ever position in the FIFA Women’s World Rankings, Ireland are now targeting a spot in the Qualifying Play-Offs for next summer’s World Cup tournament in Australia and New Zealand.

Goalkeeper Eve Badana, defenders Harriet Scott and Megan Campbell, midfielder Ellen Molloy and forward Leanne Kiernan return after missing the 9-0 victory away to Georgia in June.

There is also a recall for Hayley Nolan – who has converted from midfield to defence with London City Lionesses – and is selected for the first time since making her debut away to Belgium in April 2021.

Injuries rule out the quartet of Savannah McCarthy, Aoife Colvill, Rianna Jarrett and Kyra Carusa.

The squad will report into camp on Sunday 28 August and begin preparations for the two Group A games at the FAI National Training Centre.

Both games will be broadcast live on RTÉ2 and worldwide on the RTÉ Player.

Republic of Ireland WNT Squad

Goalkeepers: Courtney Brosnan (Everton), Grace Moloney (Reading), Megan Walsh (Brighton & Hove Albion), Eve Badana (DLR Waves)

Defenders: Harriet Scott (Birmingham City), Claire O’Riordan (Celtic), Diane Caldwell (Reading), Louise Quinn (Birmingham City), Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Hayley Nolan (London City Lionesses), Chloe Mustaki (Bristol City), Megan Campbell (Liverpool), Áine O’Gorman (Peamount United)

Midfielders: Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Denise O’Sullivan (North Carolina Courage), Megan Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion), Ruesha Littlejohn (Aston Villa), Jamie Finn (Birmingham City), Ciara Grant (Hearts), Lily Agg (London City Lionesses), Ellen Molloy (Wexford Youths), Jess Ziu (West Ham United), Lucy Quinn (Birmingham City)

Forwards: Heather Payne (Florida State University), Amber Barrett (FFC Turbine Potsdam), Leanne Kiernan (Liverpool), Abbie Larkin (Shelbourne), Saoirse Noonan (Durham WFC)

Women’s pre-season friendlies for 27/28 August

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter