Northern Ireland make several changes for Women’s Euro qualifier

Northern Ireland squad selected

Northern Ireland manager Kenny Shiels has made several changes to his squad for next week’s UEFA Women’s Euro qualifier against Faroe Islands.

Some of the changes in the 20-strong panel have been enforced due to injuries, however he has also introduced three new faces and recalled some players who have not featured in recent squads, reports

There’s a recall for Kirsty McGuinness, the prolific striker who now plays for Sion Swifts. She last featured for Northern Ireland against Netherlands in June 2018.

Also back in the fold is goalkeeper Lauren Perry, who has just signed for Scottish side Forfar Farmington. Perry has not played in the senior team since damaging her ACL in 2018.

Experienced Glentoran midfielder Nadene Caldwell returns after a lengthy sojourn, while fellow Glens midfielder Samantha Kelly is recalled too.

The three new faces for the game in Torshavn next Friday (18 September) are Linfield defender Abbie Magee, Glentoran midfielder Joely Andrews and Glens striker Kerry Beattie. All three have previously represented their country at under-age level.

Out of the squad due to injury are Sheffield United’s Becky Flaherty and Natalie Johnson, Kelsie Burrows (Blackburn Rovers), Megan Bell (Rangers), Emma McMaster (Glentoran).

After next week’s game against the Faroese, the Irish are scheduled to play Belarus away on 27 October, Belarus at home on 27 November and the Faroe Islands at home on 1 December to complete their Group C qualification campaign.

If they win their remaining four matches in the group then Northern Ireland will have a chance of competing for a place at Women’s Euro 2022.

Northern Ireland squad

Goalkeepers: Jackie Burns, Lauren Perry

Defenders: Toni-Leigh Finnegan, Ashley Hutton, Abbie Magee, Julie Nelson, Rachel Newborough, Demi Vance

Midfielders: Joely Andrews, Nadene Caldwell, Marissa Callaghan, Rachel Furness, Samantha Kelly, Chloe McCarron, Sarah McFadden, Rebecca McKenna

Forwards: Kerry Beattie, Simone Magill, Kirsty McGuinness, Lauren Wade.

#DanskeWomensPrem: Sion Swifts stun leaders with three-goal salvo

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter