Four Lionesses in New Year’s Honours list

OBE for England's Leah Williamson
England captain Leah Williamson honoured with OBE. (Karl W Newton/SPP)

Four members of the Lionesses squad together with boss Sarina Wiegman have been honoured in the New Year’s Honours list.

Leah Williamson is to receive an OBE, Beth Mead, Lucy Bronze and Ellen White are made MBEs, while Wiegman becomes a CBE on the overseas list.

“We are delighted that their services to football have been recognised in this way,” said Football Association chair Debbie Hewitt.

“They all played a pivotal role on and off the pitch in a historic year for women’s football and their recognition is wholeheartedly deserved.”

Wales captain Sophie Ingle is appointed OBE, Scotland duo Jen Beattie and Kim Little become MBEs, likewise former Northern Ireland captain Gail Redmond.

Also honoured with an MBE is Jo Tongue, Director of Women in Football.

Scottish Women’s Football receives further £100,000 boost

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter