First Women’s Futsal EURO attracts 23 entries

Northern Ireland are set for their first international futsal test. (Photo:

A total of 23 nations have entered the first UEFA Women’s Futsal EURO, ahead of the qualifying draw on 5th July.

The new competition for national teams is to be held every two years, with the first final tournament in mid-February 2019 to be hosted by one of the four eventual qualifiers.

Before then there’s the Preliminary round set for 21–26 August and Main round from 11–16 September 2018.

Northern Ireland are the sole UK representatives, despite only playing their first match this April – a 6-4 defeat to Banbridge Town men’s team.

While the new Irish team will be something of an unknown quantity, the futsal rankings have Russia in pole position, followed most closely by Spain, Portugal and Kazakhstan.

The entrants:

Armenia, Belgium, Belarus, Croatia, Czech Republic, Finland, Hungary, Italy, Kazakhstan, Lithuania, Moldova, Netherlands, Northern Ireland, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Ukraine.


Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter