Aine O’Gorman comes out of international retirement

Aine O'Gorman comes out of international retirement
Ainie O’Gorman could now add to her 100 caps for Republic of Ireland, (Photo:

Republic of Ireland manager Vera Pauw has unveiled a provisional squad for two crucial UEFA Women’s EURO 2021 qualifiers.

Ireland will welcome Greece in Tallaght Stadium on Thursday 5 March before travelling to Montenegro to take on the hosts on Wednesday 11 March, reports

Over 3,500 tickets have already gone for the Greece game, where Pauw will be hoping for the same energetic home support that the team benefitted from last year in the wins over Montenegro and Ukraine.

Peamount United’s Aine O’Gorman has come out of international retirement to link up with Pauw for the first time and will look to add to her 100 caps.

Also returning to the squad are Courtney Brosnan, Harriet Scott, Megan Connolly, Niamh Farrelly, Ruesha Littlejohn and Heather Payne, who all missed last November’s draw away to Greece.

Defenders Keeva Keenan and Megan Campbell are both ruled out due to injury, while Eabha O’Mahony and Emily Whelan will be part of Dave Connell’s Women’s Under-19 squad for three UEFA Elite Phase qualifiers in Czech Republic.

Trailing behind Group I leaders Germany, Pauw’s team are unbeaten after three games played and will be keen to pick up more points as the race for qualification for next year’s finals tournament in England heats up.

The squad, which will be trimmed down, will meet up on the weekend starting Friday 28 February to kick off preparations for the two games.

Republic of Ireland Squad

Goalkeepers: Marie Hourihan (SC Braga), Grace Moloney (Reading), Courtney Brosnan (West Ham United), Niamh Reid Burke (Peamount United)

Defenders: Harriet Scott (Birmingham City), Aine O’Gorman (Peamount United), Louise Quinn (Arsenal), Diane Caldwell (SC Sand), Claire O’Riordan (MSV Duisburg), Jamie Finn (Shelbourne), Claire Walsh (Peamount United), Chloe Mustaki (Charlton Athletic)

Midfielders: Julie-Ann Russell (Sydney University), Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Denise O’Sullivan (North Carolina Courage), Megan Connolly (Brighton & Hove Albion), Hayley Nolan (University of Hartford), Niamh Farrelly (Peamount United), Jessica Ziu (Shelbourne), Ruesha Littlejohn (West Ham United)

Forwards: Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Clare Shine (Glasgow City), Heather Payne (Florida State University), Leanne Kiernan (West Ham United), Amber Barrett (FC Koln), Rianna Jarrett (Brighton & Hove Albion)

Shelley Kerr picks Scotland squad for Pinatar Cup

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter