Zoe Ness included for #SWNT crunch double-header

Photo: scottishfa.co.uk

Durham striker Zoe Ness has been named in Shelley Kerr’s squad for the upcoming crucial matches against Switzerland and Albania, which could see Scotland make their first Women’s World Cup.

Ness has three caps for her country already and scored the first goal in the 3-0 win against Poland earlier in the campaign.

The rest of the squad is unchanged from the two victories over Belarus and Poland.

Following the dramatic 3-2 win over Poland in June, Scotland go into the match knowing a win against the Swiss by two clear goals, coupled with a victory against Albania would secure a place at their first World Cup.

The side that finishes top of their pool automatically qualifies for the World Cup in France 2019, while the four best runners up will then enter a play-off with one of the four teams eventually emerging as a qualifier for the tournament.

Shelley Kerr told scottishfa.co.uk: “We are in a great position in the group and can’t wait for these two games.

“We are in touching distance of Switzerland and know that our destiny is in our own hands.

“The comeback against Poland has given us a lot of confidence and momentum.

“That match showed the strong character we have within this squad and the ability to perform under pressure.

“We are hoping for a record crowd for the game, of more than 4,058, as that will really make a difference to the performance on the pitch and help edge us over the line.”

Click here for ticket information

Scotland squad

Goalkeepers – Lee Alexander (Glasgow City), Jenna Fife (Hibernian), Shannon Lynn (Vittsjo GIK)

Defenders – Chloe Arthur (Birmingham City), Jenny Beattie (Manchester City), Frankie Brown (Bristol City), Rachel Corsie (Utah Royals), Sophie Howard (Reading), Emma Mitchell (Arsenal), Kirsty Smith (Manchester United)

Midfielders – Lizzie Arnot (Manchester United), Leanne Crichton (Glasgow City), Kim Little (Arsenal), Jo Love (Glasgow City), Christie Murray (Liverpool), Caroline Weir (Manchester City)

Forwards – Fiona Brown (FC Rosengård), Lana Clelland (ACF Fiorentina), Erin Cuthbert (Chelsea), Claire Emslie (Manchester City), Lisa Evans (Arsenal), Zoe Ness (Durham), Jane Ross (West Ham United)

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter