#WU19EURO Qual Rd: Northern Ireland opponents include Germany

Yasmin White, who won the Electric Ireland Cup with Glentoran last weekend, played for Northern Ireland at the U-19 Euros last year. (Photo: irishfa.com)

Head Coach Alfie Wylie has unveiled his squad for the U-19 Euros qualifying round, which Northern Ireland will host in three venues early next month.

Northern Ireland U-19s will be up against Germany, Estonia and Kosovo in the mini tournament, which runs from 2-8 October, reports irishfa.com.

The top two sides in every section – plus the two third-placed teams with the best records against the top two in their group – will go through to the elite round, the draw for which is on 23 November. Seven countries will eventually qualify to join hosts Scotland in the finals from 16 to 28 July next year.

The Group 9 qualifying round in Northern Ireland will kick off with Germany against Kosovo at Stangmore Park in Dungannon on Tuesday 2 October (1400).

Northern Ireland, who will play all of their games at Shamrock Park in Portadown, will get their campaign under way later that day against Estonia (1900).

Matchday two sees the Germans take on Estonia at Stangmore Park on 5 October (1400), while Northern Ireland will face Kosovo at Shamrock Park later the same day (1900).

The mini tournament will draw to a close with Northern Ireland taking on Germany at Shamrock Park on Monday 8 October (1300) and Kosovo battling it out with Estonia at Coleraine Showgrounds on 8 October (1300).

Meanwhile, later next month Northern Ireland U-17s will be competing in a mini qualifying tournament in Greece.

They will take on the host nation on Friday 12 October (1900), followed by Switzerland on Monday 15 October (1900). Their final game is against Kazakhstan on Thursday 18 October (1900).

Northern Ireland U-19 squad:

Goalkeepers – Lauren Currie (Glentoran Women), Anna McCleary (Cliftonville Ladies);

Defenders – Yasmin White (Glentoran Women), Caitlyn Hamilton (Crusaders Strikers), Bronagh McGuinness (Derry City Ladies), Kelsie Burrows (Linfield Ladies), Khloe Cooper (Bradford City Women), Jenna McKearney (Glentoran Women), Zoe Kilpatrick (Linfield Ladies);

Midfielders – Rebecca McKenna (Linfield Ladies), Megan Bell (Linfield Ladies), Alexandra Collighan (Chichester City Ladies), Abbie Magee (Linfield Ladies), Niamh Ruddy (Portadown Ladies), Leah McDaid (Derry City Ladies);

Forwards – Louise McDaniel (Linfield Ladies), Emily Wilson (Crusaders Strikers), Kaitlyn Canavan (Motherwell), Ebony Leckey (Sion Swifts Ladies), Kaia Deane (Northwest United, Canada).

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter