#WU17EURO Qual Rd: Wales squad for mini-tournament in Serbia

Wales manager Jayne Ludlow has announced her squad for next month’s UEFA Women’s U-17 Qualifying Round mini-tournament in Serbia.

The 20-player squad will face the Republic of Ireland, Albania and the hosts between 22-28 October.

Some members of the squad have trained with the first team over the last year and Ludlow hopes the experience will benefit them out in Serbia.

Assistant manager Lauren Smith told faw.cymru: We’re really excited about this group of players. They always push for a challenge and hopefully this will give them the chance to compete on the international stage.

The 11 group winners and runners-up from the Qualifying Round will progress to the Elite Round and will also be joined by the four best third-placed teams, with the eventual finals being hosted by Bulgaria.

Wales U-17 squad: Deanna Lewis (Cyncoed), Poppy Soper (Cardiff City LFC), Hayley Hoare (Cyncoed), Esther Morgan (Chelsea), Morgan Rogers (Cardiff City LFC), Lucy Attwood (Cyncoed), Josie Smith (Everton), Sophie Norman (Cyncoed), Grace Godwin (Aston Villa), Grace Morris (Wales Performance Squad), Megan Lewis (Villa Dino Christchurch), Cerys Jones (Cardiff City LFC), Josie Longhurst (Cardiff City LFC), Phoebe Hampson (Everton), Maria Francis-Jones (Wales Performance Squad), Carrie Jones (Wales Performance Squad), Jasmine Simpson (Cardiff City LFC), Ava Suckley (Stoke City), Ffion Spence (Barry Town United)

Wales matches played in Stara Pazova (UK kick-off times)

  • Wales v Serbia (22 Oct, 4pm)
  • Republic of Ireland v Wales (25 Oct, 11am)
  • Albania v Wales (28 Oct, 1pm)

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter