Wales Women’s squad selected for debut at Pinatar Cup

Wales squad for Pinatar Cup
Photo: FAW

Wales Women’s head coach Gemma Grainger has announced a 26-player squad for the 2022 Pinatar Cup next week.

Wales have entered the tournament for the first time and will face Scotland in the opening match on Wednesday 16 February. The tournament is a knockout format, but placement matches will guarantee three fixtures for every team. Wales’ second match will be against either Belgium or Slovakia, on Saturday 19 February, before a third match against either Russia, Poland, Republic of Ireland, Hungary on Tuesday 22 February.

Grainger will look to build on the momentum of a strong start to the 2023 FIFA World Cup campaign, where Wales currently sit second in the Qualifying Round group. Sophie Ingle, Jess Fishlock and Tash Harding are among the regulars selected for Pinatar, while Rachel Rowe returns to the squad having missed matches in the October and November international windows due to injury. There may be milestones to celebrate during the tournament, with Helen Ward and Laura O’Sullivan on 97 and 49 caps respectively.

Following the Pinatar Cup, Wales will return to World Cup qualifying action when they welcome France to Parc y Scarlets on Friday 8 April. Tickets go on sale on Wednesday 16 February, starting at only £2 (group bookings) and £4 (individual bookings) for kids, available at

Wales Squad

Laura O’Sullivan – Cardiff City Ladies
Olivia Clark – Coventry United
Poppy Soper – Plymouth Argyle (dual registration with Chelsea)
Rhiannon Roberts – Liverpool
Esther Morgan – Leicester City (on loan from Spurs)
Hayley Ladd – Manchester United
Gemma Evans – Reading
Morgan Rogers – Watford (on loan from Spurs)
Rachel Rowe – Reading
Lily Woodham – Reading
Sophie Ingle – Chelsea
Anna Filbey – Charlton Athletic
Angharad James – Orlando Pride
Josie Green – Tottenham Hotspur
Charlie Estcourt – Coventry United
Jess Fishlock – OL Reign
Carrie Jones – Manchester United
Ffion Morgan – Bristol City
Megan Wynne – Charlton Athletic
Elise Hughes – Charlton Athletic
Kayleigh Green – Brighton & Hove Albion
Helen Ward – Watford
Natasha Harding – Reading
Ceri Holland – Liverpool
Chloe Williams – Blackburn Rovers (on loan from Man Utd)
Georgia Walters – Sheffield United

St Margaretsbury champions at first attempt

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter