UEFA Women’s Player of the Year Shortlist

Pernille Harder (Denmark, Linköping and Wolfsburg), Dzsenifer Marozsán (Germany, Lyon) and Lieke Martens (Netherlands, Rosengård and Barcelona) are the three nominees for the UEFA Women’s Player of the Year award.

Two English players also make the longer list of the top ten, with Lucy Bronze and Jodie Taylor recognized.

The award will be presented to the winner at the 2017/18 UEFA Champions League group stage draw ceremony, which will take place on Thursday 24 August in Monaco.

For the women’s award, the shortlist of three players was selected by a jury composed of the coaches of the 16 teams which participated in the recent UEFA Women’s EURO 2017 in the Netherlands, together with the coaches of the eight clubs that reached the quarter-finals of the 2016/17 UEFA Women’s Champions League.

Twenty journalists specialising in women’s football and selected by the ESM group were also part of the jury.

The UEFA Women’s Player of the Year Award recognises the best players, irrespective of nationality, who played for a club within the territory of a UEFA member association during the past season.

Players are judged on their performances in all club and national team competitions – domestic, continental and international.

The final result was based on the total number of votes cast by the coaches and the journalists. The coaches were not allowed to vote for players from their own team.

Ada Hegerberg won the award for 2015/16

Ada Hegerberg won the award for 2015/16©Getty Images

The players who make up the rest of the top ten are:
4: Vivianne Miedema (Netherlands, Bayern München and Arsenal)
5: Eugénie Le Sommer (France, Lyon)
6: Wendie Renard (France, Lyon)
7: Jackie Groenen (Netherlands, FFC Frankfurt)
8: Lucy Bronze (England, Manchester City)
9: Jodie Taylor (England, Arsenal)
10: Shanice van de Sanden (Netherlands, Liverpool)

Previous winners of the award:
2012/13 ─ Nadine Angerer (Germany, FFC Frankfurt)
2013/14 ─ Nadine Kessler (Germany, Wolfsburg)
2014/15 ─ Célia Šašić (Germany, FFC Frankfurt)
2016/17 ─ Ada Hegerberg (Norway, Lyon)

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter