Republic of Ireland Women’s Euro dream ended by 3-1 defeat to Germany

Rep Ireland v Germany
Republic of Ireland’s Heather Payne (left) and Germany’s Sydney Lohmann battle for the ball. (PA Images)

Republic of Ireland’s dream of qualifying for the 2022 UEFA Women’s Euros ended in a 3-1 defeat to Germany at Tallaght Stadium.

Ireland started well but were dealt a cruel double blow, as Svenja Huth won a penalty which Simone Magull converted, Tabea Waßmuth the striking home from distance eight minutes later.

The hosts responded when a quick break got Heather Payne in behind, finding Denise O’Sullivan who was fouled in the area, Katie McCabe blasting in the resulting spot-kick.

McCabe might have got a second for Ireland and O’Sullivan hit the bar, but Waßmuth made sure of a Germany victory with five minutes left.

Republic of Ireland: Moloney; O’Gorman, Quinn, Caldwell, Fahey, McCabe; Littlejohn, Finn (Molloy 80), O’Sullivan; Payne, Jarrett (Barrett 55).

Germany: Berger; Hendrich (Wolter 61), Hegering, Oberdorf, Lohmann; Magull (Lattwein 75), Dallmann (Marozsan 46), Leupolz; Wabmuth, Huth, Buhl (Schuller 74).

Finland end Scotland hopes of qualifying for Women’s Euros

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter