Northern Ireland squad named for UEFA Women’s Euro 2022

Northern Ireland squad for WEURO2022
Photo: @NorthernIreland

Kenny Shiels has today named the 23 players who will represent Northern Ireland at UEFA Women’s Euro 2022.

Shiels has chosen a squad packed with experience to compete in England at what will be Northern Ireland Women’s first major tournament.

It features two centurions in Julie Nelson (125 caps) and Ashley Hutton (114 caps), the latter having  battled back to fitness from a serious knee injury over the past 12 months.

Marissa Callaghan is still recovering from a toe injury, however she has been named as the captain of the squad and is expected to be ready. Callaghan is among a handful of players in the group who have earned between 70 and 100 caps. Rachel Furness, Demi Vance, Sarah McFadden and Simone Magill also fall into that category, while Nadene Caldwell and Kirsty McGuinness are in the 50 caps-plus bracket.

Shiels has also given youth a chance, with Rebecca McKenna, Kelsie Burrows, Abbie Magee and Caitlin McGuinness, Joely Andrews and Emily Wilson all aged 21 or under, while Louise McDaniel is 22.

The only uncapped player in the group is goalkeeper Shannon Turner, the 24-year-old has previously represented her country at U-19 level.

Missing out through injury are Megan Bell, Caragh Hamilton, Danielle Maxwell and Vicky Carleton.

Northern Ireland’s first game at this summer’s Euros will be against Norway on 7 July followed by matches versus Austria (11 July) and tournament hosts England (15 July). All three of Northern Ireland’s group games (Group A) at the Euros are being staged at St Mary’s Stadium in Southampton.

Northern Ireland Women squad for UEFA Women’s Euro 2022

Goalkeepers: Jackie Burns (BK Hacken), Becky Flaherty (Brighouse Town), Shannon Turner (Wolverhampton Wanderers).

Defenders: Kelsie Burrows (Cliftonville), Rebecca Holloway (Racing Louisville), Ashley Hutton (Linfield), Abbie Magee (Cliftonville), Sarah McFadden (Durham), Rebecca McKenna (Lewes), Julie Nelson (Crusaders Strikers), Laura Rafferty (Southampton), Demi Vance (Rangers).

Midfielders: Nadene Caldwell (Glentoran), Joely Andrews (Glentoran), Chloe McCarron (Glentoran), Marissa Callaghan (Cliftonville), Louise McDaniel (Cliftonville), Rachel Furness (Liverpool).

Forwards: Simone Magill (unattached), Caitlin McGuinness (Cliftonvillle), Kirsty McGuinness (Cliftonville), Lauren Wade (Glentoran), Emily Wilson (Crusaders Strikers).

Wembley Stadium penthouse available for Women’s Euro Final

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter