Megan Rapinoe wins Women’s Ballon d’Or ahead of Lucy Bronze

Megan Rapinoe woins Ballon d'Or
PA Images

USA’s Megan Rapinoe won the second edition of France Football Women’s Ballon d’Or with Lionesses Lucy Bronze runner-up.

Winner of last year’s inaugural honour, Ada Hegerberg, finished fourth this time, with Arsenal’s Vivianne Miedema fifth, Chelsea-bound Sam Kerr seventh and Ellen White of Manchester City in ninth spot.

The complete ranking for the Women’s Golden Ball:

1. Megan Rapinoe (USA, Seattle Reign)
2. Lucy Bronze (ENG, Lyon)
3. Alex Morgan (USA, Orlando Pride)
4. Ada Hegerberg (NOR, Lyon)
5. Vivianne Miedema (NED, Arsenal)
6. Wendie Renard (FRA, Lyon)
7. Sam Kerr (AUS, Chicago Red Stars)
8. Rose Lavelle (USA, Washington Spirit)
9. Ellen White (ENG, Manchester City)
10. Dzsenifer Marozsan (GER, Lyon)
11. Amandine Henry (FRA, Lyon) /  Sari van Veenendal (NED, Atlético de Madrid)
13. Tobin Heath (USA, Portland Thorns)
14. Pernille Harder (DEN, VfL Wolfsburg) / Lieke Martens (NED, FC Barcelona)
16. Kosovare Asllani (SWE, CD Tacon) / Nilla Fischer (SWE, Linköpings) / Marta (BRA, Orlando Pride)
19. Sofia Jakobsson (SWE, CD Tacon)
20. Sarah Bouhaddi (FRA, Lyon)

#FAWSL: Goal-crazy Gunners go top

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter