Megan Rapinoe wins #TheBest women’s player award

Male and female The Best FIFA Player award winners
#TheBest: Lionel Messi and Megan Rapinoe with their trophies. Credit Daniela Porcelli

Megan Rapinoe was declared winner of the women’s player honour at the Best Fifa Football Awards in Milan.

She won ahead of USA team-mate Alex Morgan and England’s Lucy Bronze, who was the only Lionesses to make the Fifpro Women’s World XI.

Best Coach award went to Jill Ellis
Jill Ellis. (Photo: Daniela Porcelli)

The USA’s Jill Ellis took the women’s coach award, Netherlands’ Sarina Wiegman and England’s Phil Neville were the other two short-listed.

Netherlands’ Sari van Veenendaal, who joined Atletico Madrid from Arsenal in the summer, won the best women’s goalkeeper award, seeing off challenges from Chile’s Christiane Endler and Sweden’s Hedvig Lindahl.

Best Goalkeeper was Sari van Veevendaal
Sari van Veenendaal (Photo: Daniela Porcelli)

Fifpro Women’s World XI

Goalkeeper: Sari van Veenendaal (Arsenal and Atletico Madrid/Netherlands)

Defenders: Lucy Bronze (Lyon/England), Wendie Renard (Lyon/France), Nilla Fischer (Wolfsburg and Linkopings/Sweden), Kelley O’Hara (Utah Royals/USA)

Midfielders: Amandine Henry (Lyon/France), Julie Ertz (Chicago Red Stars/USA)

Attacking midfielders: Marta (Orlando Pride/Brazil), Rose Lavelle (Washington Spirit/USA), Megan Rapinoe (Reign/USA)

Striker: Alex Morgan (Orlando Pride/USA)

#TheBest FIFA Awards finalists includes Lionesses duo

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter