#FIFAWWC2023: Qualifying slots confirmed for first 32-team finals

The Sydney Opera House is illuminated in support of Australia and New Zealand�s joint bid
PA Images

The Bureau of the FIFA Council has confirmed the number of berths per confederation for the expanded 32-team 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

The two host countries, Australia and New Zealand, automatically qualify and their slots have been taken directly from the quotas of  their confederations; AFC and OFC respectively.

Direct slot allocation (29)

  • 11 – UEFA
  • 6 – AFC (Asia)
  • 4 – CAF (Africa)
  • 4 – CONCACAF
  • 3 – CONMEBOL
  • 1 – OFC (Oceanis)

Play-off tournament slot allocation (3)

The three remaining slots will be decided through a ten-team play-off tournament, whose contestants will come two each from AFC, CAF, CONCACAF and CONMEBOL, plus one each for UEFA and OFC.

There will be four teams seeded in the tournament based on the latest FIFA/Coca-Cola Women’s World Ranking prior to the play-off draw, with a maximum of one seeded team per confederation.

Shelley Kerr steps down as Scotland Women’s head coach

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter