The FA Women’s Football Awards Winners Revealed

The FA Women’s Football Awards celebrated an exciting year for women’s football on Friday evening.

Gathering at the Grosvenor House Hotel in London, the annual ceremony reflected on an exciting year by recognising the achievements of clubs, players, staff and the excellent work done at the grassroots level of the game.

“It has been a landmark year for women’s football in England,” said Baroness Sue Campbell, The FA’ head of women’s football.

“We’ve seen the Lionesses capture the imagination of the nation, a record crowd at the SSE Women’s FA Cup Final, the excitement of a final day decider in The FA WSL Spring Series and growing participation numbers.

“All of this has been underpinned by the announcement of our new women’s strategy Gameplan for Growth, which we believe will transform the future of the women’s game

“The FA Women’s Football awards were a particularly special evening and provided us with the opportunity to take a moment to look back and celebrate the achievements of so many who are integral to the game.”

Vauxhall England Player of the Year: Jodie Taylor

The Arsenal striker had a fine year, helping fire England to the European Championship semi-final as well as picking up the ‘Golden Boot’ award for her five goals in the Netherlands which included a hat-trick against Scotland and the winner against France in the quarter final.

Vauxhall England Young Player of the Year: Lauren Hemp

The Bristol City forward featured for the Young Lionesses in the U-17 Euros earlier this year. After firing five goals in six appearances for John Griffiths’ side during the qualifying rounds, she then added another goal to her tally at the Finals in Czech Republic in May.

The FA Women’s Super League

FA WSL 1 Players’ Player of the Spring Series: Jordan Nobbs (Arsenal)
FA WSL 2 Players’ Player of the Spring Series: Michelle Hinnigan (Everton)
FA WSL 1 Goal of the Spring Series 2017: Jordan Nobbs (Arsenal)
FA WSL Head Coach of the Spring Series: Andy Spence (Everton)
FA WSL 1 Spring Series – Top Goalscorer: Fran Kirby (Chelsea)
FA WSL 2 Spring Series- Top Goalscorer: Courtney Sweetman-Kirk (Doncaster Rovers Belles)
FA WSL 1, Club of the Season: Manchester City
FA WSL 2 Club of the Season: Durham Women

The FA Women’s Premier League

FA WPL Div One Players’ Player of the Year: Nikki Berko (Blackpool Wren Rovers)
FA WPL Prem Div Players’ Player of the Year: Kate Mallin (Huddersfield Town)
FA WPL Manager of the Year: Karen Hills (Tottenham Hotspur)
FA WPL Div One North Top Goal Scorer: Nikki Berko (Blackpool Wren Rovers)
FA WPL Div One Mids -Top Goal Scorer: Cara Newton (Long Eaton United)
FA WPL Div One SE -Top Goal Scorer: Felecity Gibbons (Gillingham)
FA WPL Div One SW – Top Goal Scorer: Natasha Knapman (Plymouth Argyle)
FA WPL Southern Div -Top Goal Scorer: Gemma Bryan (Crystal Palace)
FA WPL Northern Div -Top Goal Scorer: Bianca Owens (Middlesbrough)
FA WPL Club of the Year: Tottenham Hotspur

Best Participation Initiative: Didsbury Girls’ FC / Mums and Recreational Football


Started in 2015, Didsbury’s Pay & Play was launched to address the imbalance between the participation of boys and girls in their area of Manchester. Launched 2 years ago, they have welcoming over 275 girls, as well as offering parents and carers an opportunity to get involved – sending four parents on FA affiliated coaching courses and adding them to the coaching team.

The award was shared with Mums and Recreational Football, a Surrey-based initiative offering mums and carers the opportunity to participate in football exercises and coaching whilst waiting for their children during football training sessions.

Unsung Hero: Harriet Miller, City of Liverpool Ladies manager

For over 30 years, Harriet Miller has been involved in football in Liverpool and the North West – playing in, coaching and managing women’s football teams, implementing grassroots and charity participation initiatives and promoting women’s football in the surrounding area.

Special Award: Dick, Kerr Ladies FC

One of the earliest known women’s association football teams, 2017 marks the centenary of the formation of the Dick, Kerr Ladies in Preston in 1917. The team, started in a munitions factory, went over 320 games unbeaten, held the record attendance at a women’s football match and raised significant money for charity.

Now a member of the centenary club, Dick, Kerr Ladies has been awarded the Contribution to Football Award in celebration of its 100 years in football as well as its continued involvement in promoting the game and work with charities.

Source / photos –

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter