England Women’s U-19 squad for UEFA EURO tournament

England WU19 Euro squad
Richard Callis/Sports Press Photo

The England squad to compete at the 2022 UEFA WU19 European Championship in Czech Republic has been confirmed today.

The Young Lionesses are one of eight nations bidding to win the prestigious age-group tournament to be played in Czech Republic from 26 June to 9 July. England are in a section with Norway, Sweden and Germany with the top two teams progressing to the semi-finals.

It all starts with a fixture against Norway on Monday 27 June at 4.30pm (BST) in the Městský Stadium, Karviná. That will be followed by a meeting with Sweden at 4.30pm (BST) on Thursday 30 June at the Stovky Stadium, Frýdek-Místek before a return to the Městský Stadium for the final group fixture against Germany on Sunday 3 July, with an 7pm (BST) kick-off.

Head coach Gemma Davies guided the WU19s to the finals with three wins out of three in April’s qualifying round, with eight goals scored and none conceded in victories against Wales, Iceland and Belgium.

Gemma Davies said: “The spotlight is on our game this summer with the senior EUROs in England and our players have the perfect platform to show what they can do before it all begins. It is a great opportunity for them to experience tournament football and learn more about what goes into representing your country. While we are looking to perform in every match, it is an important step for them to develop as individuals on and off the pitch as they work their way through the pathway.”

England, featuring Lucy Bronze and Demi Stokes, won the competition in 2009 with a 2-0 defeat of Sweden and have been runners-up on three previous occasions in 2007, 2010 and 2013. Germany remain the most successful nation at this level with six titles overall while they were also runners-up in the last two editions.

England UEFA Women’s U-19 EURO squad

Goalkeepers: Khiara Keating (Manchester City), Natalia Negri (Crystal Palace)
Defenders: Tara Bourne (Manchester United), Anouk Denton (University of Louisville), Jorja Fox (Chelsea), Neve Herron (Sunderland), Ruby Mace (Manchester City), Olivia McLoughlin (Aston Villa), Lucy Parry (Liverpool), Caitlin Smith (Clemson University)
Midfielders: Laura Blindkilde Brown (Aston Villa), Grace Clinton (Everton), Lucia Kendall (Southampton), Mia Ross (Charlton Athletic), Maisie Symonds (Brighton and Hove Albion), Charlotte Wardlaw (Chelsea)
Forwards: Aggie Beever-Jones (Chelsea), Freya Gregory (Aston Villa), Emily Murphy (University of North Carolina), Lucy Watson (Sheffield United)

Stourbridge secure seven friendlies ahead of FAWNL debut

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter