England squad for Women’s U-17 Euros qualifiers in Hungary

Spain v England - Semi-final: UEFA Women's European Under-17 Championship
England made the 2023 UEFA Women’s U-17 Championship semi-finals last May. (Photo by Joosep Martinson/Getty Images )

Head coach Natalie Henderson has selected 20 players for England’s UEFA Women’s U-17 Championship qualifiers in November.

The Young Lionesses will face Northern Ireland, mini-tournament hosts Hungary and Belgium in Group A6 for the first round of qualifying.

The top three teams in each of the seven groups within League A will have the chance to qualify for the EUROs in round two of qualification, where they will be joined in mini-groups by the top teams from the groups in League B.

A second round of qualifying will then take place in early 2024, with the seven group winners joining hosts Sweden in the finals in May.

Henderson told englandfootball.com: “We’re really looking forward to testing ourselves in these upcoming competitive matches against quality European opposition.

“The European structure gives our Young Lionesses experience playing in a competitive tournament environment, developing them as players on the pitch but also giving them invaluable experience off the pitch as they progress through the pathway.”

England WU17s kick off their qualifying campaign against Northern Ireland on Saturday (kick-off 12pm GMT) at the BSC Stadium in Budaörs before facing the hosts Hungary at the Globall Football Park in Telki on Tuesday (3pm GMT).

The Young Lionesses will then be back at the BSC Stadium in their final first round game against Belgium on Friday 10 November (2pm GMT).

England WU17 Squad

Goalkeepers: Rebekah Dowsett (Watford), Hope McSheffrey (Arsenal)

Defenders: Nelly Las (Leicester City), Rachel Maltby (Aston Villa), Jessica Pegram (Brighton & Hove Albion), Simone Sherwood (Leicester City), Cecily Wellesley-Smith (Oxford United)

Midfielders: Lola Brown (Chelsea), Emily Cassap (Sunderland), Laila Harbert (Arsenal/Watford), Sophie Harwood (Southampton), Issy Hobson (Everton), Vera Jones (Barry Town), Erica Parkinson (FC Valadares)

Forwards: Denny Draper (Leicester City), Mia Endacott (Plymouth Argyle/Bristol City), Isabella Fisher (Arsenal), Eva Hendle (Chelsea), Scarlett Hill (Manchester United), Lauryn Thompson (Indy Eleven)

Manager Brian Sørensen urges ‘ruthless’ streak from Everton

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter