Alexia Putellas is 2021/22 UEFA Women’s Player of the Year

Alexia Putellas wins UEFA Women's player of the year award
Alexia Putellas with the UEFA Women’s Player of the Year Award. (Photo by Lukas Schulze – UEFA/UEFA via Getty Images)

Barcelona and Spain attacker Alexia Putellas is the first played to be named UEFA Women’s Player of the Year twice in a row.

She finished ahead of Beth Mead and Alex Popp in the voting, joining Pernille Harder as a multiple winner.

The winner of this award last season, if anything Alexia had an ever better 2021/22 for Barcelona. She had the most prolific season of her club career with 34 goals as her side won a clean sweep of Spanish trophies and reached another UEFA Women’s Champions League final.

Barcelona lost 3-1 to Lyon in Turin but Alexia’s consolation was finishing as the 11-goal Top Scorer and being named the competition’s Player of the Season. The goals also flowed for Spain, getting eight in 12 games as she became the first women to win 100 caps for her nation.

Her ACL injury on the eve of UEFA Women’s EURO 2022 was a huge blow to Spain, and indeed Barcelona, likely to be without Alexia for most if not all next season.
Full ranking

1 Alexia Putellas (Barcelona/Spain) – 97 points
2 Beth Mead (Arsenal/England) – 84 points
3 Lena Oberdorf (Wolfsburg/Germany) – 47 points
4 Alex Popp (Wolfsburg/Germany) – 35 points
5 Aitana Bonmatí (Barcelona/Spain) – 25 points
6 Keira Walsh (Manchester City/England) – 18 points
7 Leah Williamson (Arsenal/England) – 17 points
8= Ada Hegerberg (Lyon/Norway) – 12 points
8= Wendie Renard (Lyon/France) – 12 points
10 Lina Magull (Bayern München/Germany) – 10 points
11 Delphine Cascarino (Lyon/France) – 9 points
12= Amandine Henry (Lyon) – 8 points
12= Mapi León (Barcelona/Spain) – 8 points
14 Tabea Wassmuth (Wolfsburg/Germany) – 6 points
15= Mary Earps (Manchester United/England) – 5 points
15= Selma Bacha (Lyon/France) – 5 points
17= Sakina Karchaoui (Paris Saint-Germain/France) – 4 points
17= Marie-Antoinette Katoto (Paris Saint-Germain/France) – 4 points
19 Merle Frohms (Eintracht Frankfurt, now Wolfsburg/Germany) – 2 points
20 Fridolina Rolfö (Barcelona/Sweden) – 1 point
21= Christiane Endler (Lyon/Chile)
21= Marina Hegering (Bayern München, now Wolfsburg/Germany)

Sarina Wiegman has been named UEFA Women’s Coach of the Year for 2021/22.

Wiegman, who led England to victory at UEFA Women’s EURO 2022, finished ahead of Lyon’s Sonia Bompastor and Germany’s Martina Voss-Tecklenburg in the voting to win the award. The decision was announced during the 2022/23 men’s UEFA Champions League group stage draw ceremony in Istanbul.

FIFA Women’s U-20 World Cup: Japan and Spain to contest final

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter