2023-24 Women’s County Leagues Round-Up (1/3)

Derbyshire League champions, Borrowash Victoria Ladies
Photo: Borrowash Victoria Ladies

The first of our end-of-season Women’s County Leagues round-ups takes us from Bedfordshire & Hertfordshire to Durham.

Beds & Herts

Colney Heath captured the Premier title by seven points from Garston, Flitwick Eagles Blues finished top of Division 1, two points ahead of Biggleswade United Blues. Letchworth Garden City Eagles landed the Division 2 title by three points from Real Bedford Development, Woburn & Wavendon Lionesses won all 14 games to take Division 3 with an 11-point advantage over Bedwell Rangers.


Solihull Moors Foundation finished top of the Premier by three points from Bournville, with Coundon Court Development a further point behind in third. Coton Green won 19 of their 20 games in securing the Division 1 title by a five-point margin over Gornal Athletic.

Coton Green, Birmingham League Division 1 runners-up
Photo: Coton Green Ladies FC

Alan Boswell Group Cambridgeshire

Whittlesey Athletic topped the Premiership with 51 points from a possible 54, Fulbourn Institute Bluebirds ended nine points short but far ahead of the rest. Godmanchester Town took the Division 2 title ahead of Netherton United, South Lincolnshire Swifts were Division 3 champions and Isleham United the runners-up.


Macclesfield FC ended top of the Premier by a seven-point margin over Chester Development, who were one point better off than AFC Crewe. Newton-Le-Willows took the Championship crown and second-placed Wirral United were a massive 17 points clear of the rest.

Earthbound Electrical Cornwall

St Agnes lost just the once as they clinched the Division 1 title by 10 points from Saltash Borough, who in turn were two ahead of Bodmin. FXSU (Falmouth & Exeter Students’ Union) finished first in Division 2, Redruth United were runners-up.

Cornwall league champions, St Agnes AFC Ladies
Photo: St Agnes AFC Ladies

Andrea Buggy Cumbria

The Spring/Summer competition has a away to go yet but defending champions Whitehaven are currently in pole position and unbeaten Newlaithes  – runners-up last time – well placed in second. Fixtures continue on Wednesdays through to mid-July.


Borrowash Victoria topped the Division 1 table by eight points from Pride Park. Buxton bagged the Division 2 North trophy with Duffield Dynamos were second, Castle Donnington captured the Division 2 South prize and Hilton Harriers finished runners-up.

Derbyshire League champions, Borrowash Victoria Ladies
Photo; Borrowash Victoria Ladies


Plympton picked up the Premier title by a large margin on 13 points from Budleigh Salterton. Appledore dropped just two points in winning the Division 1 North/East title well ahead of Honiton Town, Division 1 South/West was won by SB Oak Villa and Horrabridge Rangers took second spot.

Devon League champions, Plympton Ladies
Photo: @plymptonladies


Wimborne Town topped the nine-team league, ending up four points clear of second-placed Poole Town Reserves.


League One winners were Chester le Street Amazons with Darlington runners-up, Darlington Spraire clinched the League Two title in front of Newton Aycliffe. Bishop Auckland Reserves beat Seaton Carew to the Development Division top spot and Castle United dropped just a couple of points in topping the Recreational Division from Hebburn Town Golds.

Durham League champions, CLS Amazons FC
Photo: CLS Amazons FC

Winning start for Emma Hayes as USWNT beat South Korea

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter