Young Lionesses learn group opponents at FIFA Women’s U-17 World Cup

FIFA U-17 womens World Cup 2022 final, Spain v Colombia at the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai on October 30, 2022.
Spain won the 2022 FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup in India. (Photo by PUNIT PARANJPE/AFP via Getty Images)

England have been grouped with North Korea, Mexico and Kenya at the 2024 FIFA U17 Women’s World Cup in the Dominican Republic.

Reigning champions Spain take on USA, South Korea and Colombia in Group B.

Group A: Dominican Republic, Ecuador, New Zealand, Nigeria

Group B: Spain, USA, South Korea, Colombia

Group C: North Korea, Mexico, Kenya, England

Group D: Japan, Poland, Brazil, Zambia

The top two placed teams from each group will progress into the quarter-finals.

Head coach Natalie Henderson told “Whenever you get to a tournament at this level you expect the opposition to be very difficult and to bring different challenges. We’re happy with the draw but we know it will be tough. We feel in a really good place, we’ve made really good progress across the season, so we want to continue to build on that and of course we want to win it. That’s our ambition but we’ll take it one step at a time.

“We also know that tournaments like this are vital for our players’ development and for them on their journeys and their careers so we’re really looking forward to seeing how they cope with that and how they deal with the challenges of each game. This experience is really important.”

The competition kicks off on October 16 and will be played in Santo Domingo and Santiago de los Caballeros, with the final on 3 November.

Register your interest in tickets by clicking here.

Sion Swifts win seven-goal thriller to lead NIWFA Championship

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter