#WEUROFutsal : Northern Ireland discover opponents

Northern Ireland are set for their first international futsal test. (Photo: irishfa.com)

Northern Ireland will host Belgium, Netherlands and Sweden in the inaugural UEFA Women’s Futsal Cup.

It will be a first ever international futsal tournament for Northern Ireland’s men or women and the Irish are the only British entry into the new biennial competition.

Preliminary Round: 21 – 26 August

Group A: Netherlands, Belgium, Sweden, Northern Ireland (hosts)

Group B: Slovakia, Finland, Lithuania (hosts)

Group C: Belarus, Moldova (hosts), Armenia

The three group winners then progress to the main round to join the 13 teams given byes.

Main round: 11–16 September

Group 1: Spain (hosts), Italy, Romania, Poland

Group 2: Russia, Slovenia, Croatia (hosts), Winner Group A

Group 3: Kazakhstan, Ukraine (hosts), Hungary, Winner Group C

Group 4: Portugal (hosts), Serbia, Czech Republic, Winner Group B

The four main round group winners then progress to February’s knockout finals, which will be hosted by one of the qualifiers.