UEFA Women’s Champions League Round 1 draw this week

UWCL 1st Round draw this week
Peter Sonander/Sports Press Photo

The UEFA Women’s Champions League Round 1 draw will be streamed live on uefa.com from 12pm UK time on Friday 24 June.

Qualifying will be split into the champions path and the league path, with each having knockout matches played in single-venue mini-tournaments, The semi-finals of these are on 18 August, finals and third-place play-offs three days later.

The winners of each final (11 in the champions path, four in the league path) will progress to round 2, where 24 teams will compete for the last 12 slots in the group stage alongside holders Lyon, plus Barcelona, Chelsea and Wolfsburg who also have byes.

The hosts of the knockout mini-tournaments will be confirmed from among the clubs in each group.

Champions path – This consists of 42 teams who are champions of the associations ranked eighth and below (with Russia excluded). They will be drawn into 11 single-venue knockout mini-tournaments: nine of four clubs and two with three teams. The winners of the finals will progress to round 2, into which three teams have direct entry. Seven group stage places will be on offer in round 2.

League path – Consisting of 16 teams who are runners-up from the associations ranked seventh to 16th and the third-placed teams from the associations ranked first to sixth. They will be drawn into four knockout mini-tournaments of four teams each. The winners of the four finals will progress to round 2, into which six teams have direct entry. Five group stage places will be on offer in round 2.

Clubs are seeded for round 1 in accordance with the club coefficient rankings established at the beginning of the season. For the two champions path groups with three teams, the side with the highest coefficient is seeded directly to the final; the remaining two teams play a single-leg tie.

Clubs from the following pairs of associations cannot be drawn into the same group: Kosovo/Bosnia and Herzegovina, Kosovo/Serbia, and Ukraine/Belarus.

Champions path

Pot 1 (seeded): Juventus (ITA), BIIK-Shymkent (KAZ), St. Pölten (AUT), Zürich (SUI), Gintra (LTU), Spartak Subotica (SRB), Vllaznia (ALB), Twente (NED), Benfica (POR), Apollon LFC (CYP), Anderlecht (BEL), SFK 2000 Sarajevo (BIH), Universitatea Olimpia Cluj (ROU), Vorskla-Kharkiv-2 (UKR),  Valur (ISL), Ferencváros (HUN), PAOK (GRE), Pomurje Beltinci (SVN), Breznica Pljevlja (MNE), Dinamo-BSUPC (BLR), Flora Tallinn (EST), Brann (NOR)

Pot 2 (unseeded): Rangers, Lanchkhuti (GEO), Split (CRO), Racing FC Union Luxembourg (LUX), KÍ Klaksvík (FRO), Shelbourne (IRL), Birkirkara (MLT), Swansea City, Qiryat Gat (ISR), ALG Spor (TUR), SFK Rīga (LVA), Agarista CSF Anenii Noi 2020 (MDA), Glentoran, UKS SMS Łódź (POL), KuPS Kuopio (FIN), Hayasa (ARM), Lokomotiv Stara Zagora (BUL), Hajvalia (KOS), Spartak Myjava (SVK), Ljuboten (MKD)

League path

Pot 1 (seeded): Manchester City, Glasgow City, Fortuna Hjørring (DEN), Real Madrid (ESP), FC Minsk (BLR), Ajax (NED), Breidablik (ISL), Paris FC (FRA)

Pot 2 (unseeded): Eintracht Frankfurt (GER), Servette FCCF (SUI), Kristianstad (SWE), Slovácko (CZE), Sturm Graz (AUT), Rosenborg (NOR), Roma (ITA), Tomiris-Turan (KAZ)

West Bromwich Albion Women to play at Hednesford Town FC

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter