Trio inducted into Barclays Women’s Super League Hall of Fame

Jill Scott 2023 Barclays WSL Hall of Fame
Jill Scott with her Barclays WSL Hall of Fame induction award.

Jill Scott, Ellen White and Anita Asante have all been inducted into the Barclays Women’s Super League Hall of Fame for 2023. 

The trio were standout figures during their respective professional careers in England and contributed hugely to the growth of the women’s and girls’ game.

Jill Scott, who played for Everton, Manchester City and Aston Villa, made 175 WSL appearances in total, scoring 22 goals and winning every possible domestic trophy, including four Women’s FA Cups, three Continental Tyres League Cups and one league title.

Ellen White made a total of 144 league appearances for Arsenal, Notts County, Birmingham City and Manchester City, finding the back of the net on 61 occasions – a statistic that made her the league’s all-time goalscorer at that time – and lifting nine trophies during her career.

Anita Asante helped set the foundations of the women’s game in England prior to the creation of the Barclays Women’s Super League, with a trophy laden spell at Arsenal throughout the noughties, and made 47 appearances in the division’s current guise for Chelsea and Aston Villa.

Ellen White and Anita Asante inducted into BSWL Hall of Fame
Anita Asante and Ellen White.

All three inductees will be officially unveiled at a special event at the National Football Museum in Manchester on Monday 13 November which will see those at the heart of women’s football – clubs, media, partners, and league representatives – come together to celebrate the greatness of the Barclays Women’s Super League.

The evening follows on from the collaboration announced between the National Football Museum and Barclays WSL earlier this season to increase the representation of women’s football memorabilia at the venue.

White, Scott and Asante’s inductions were decided by the Barclays WSL Hall of Fame selection panel, which features prominent former players, coaches, and officials from the women’s game, as well as journalists and members of FA staff.

The inductees join an illustrious group of individuals who have been recognised for their huge contributions and achievements at the highest level of the women’s game, including Emma Hayes, Karen Carney and Kelly Smith amongst others.

Jodie Taylor returns to Arsenal Women in new role

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter