Ten teams granted FA of Wales Women’s Tier 1 Licence

Abergavenny at Leckwith Stadium
Photo: Will Cheshire

Barry Town United and The New Saints are among those to get a FAW Women’s Tier 1 Licence for 2021/22 season but Cascade miss out.

For the 2021/22 season only there was an ‘open application’ process, whereby clubs at any level could apply to be in Tier 1 or Tier 2. Clubs will present Development Plans before final decisions of the make-up of the eight-team Tier 1, Tier 2 North and South are confirmed.

With the First Instance Body (FIB) assessing a total of 34 clubs, UEFA Licences for the 2021/22 season were given to: Cardiff City Women, Cardiff Met, Cyncoed (who are being renamed Pontypridd Town) and Swansea City, the FAW Tier 1 Licences went to Abergavenny, Aberystwyth Town, Barry Town United, Briton Ferry Llansawel, Cardiff City Women, Cardiff Met, Cyncoed (Pontypridd Town), Port Talbot Town, Swansea City and The New Saints.

The new Tier 2 Licences were awarded to North region sides: Airbus UK Broughton, Amlwch Town, Bethel, Colwyn Bay, Connah’s Quay Nomads, Denbigh Town, Llandudno, Llanfair United, Llanystumdwy, North Football Association, Pwllheli and Wrexham, plus South teams: Aberdare Town, Baglan BG Junior, Coed Duon Welfare, FC Talycopa, Pontardawe Town and Swansea University.

Caldicot Town, Cardiff Bluebelles, Cascade YC and Merthyr Town were refused Tier 1 Licences, Aberaman and Cwmbran Celtic were unsuccessful in Tier 2 applications, while three others withdrew; Bangor, Dafen Welfare and Northop Hall. Clubs denied a licence have ten days in which to submit an appeal.

Spain Women dominant in defeat of Dutch

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter