Team GBR Squad For World University Games

A squad of 20 players has been selected to represent Team GBR at the World University Games in Chinese Taipei, 19-30 August.

Selection trials eventually resulted with 15 English, 3 Welsh and 2 Scottish players making the cut, the lucky 20 travelling to Hong Kong in early August for a camp, before competing in Pool D of the 13-team tournament with Russia and South Africa.

Team GBR last entered a women’s football side at the 2013 Games, where they beat Mexico 6-2 in the gold medal match. That team included the likes of three current Lionesses: Fran Kirby, Izzy Christensen and Demi Stokes.

BUCS say that the 2017 edition includes many emerging stars.

Goalkeeper Megan Walsh, who currently plays in WSL1 for Yeovil Town, was part of the recent England U-23 side who won the Nordic Cup.

Fresh from winning the BUCS Football Championship Final earlier this year, Durham University defender Annabel Johnson also bring WSL experience as a current Durham WFC..

Amongst the midfielders is Middlesbrough Ladies’ and Northumbria University Emma Kelly. Having represented England since the age of 14, Kelly has captained England U-15s and also played in a UEFA European Championships.

In the forward line-up, University of Edinburgh’s Kirsty Howat has represented Scotland at a junior level and currently plays for Celtic in the SWPL1.

Team GBR Squad for WUGS 2017
Name – University – Home Nation


Claire Skinner – University of South Wales – Wales
Megan Walsh – University of Liverpool – England


Ellie Dobson – Northumbria University – England
Gemma Evans – University of South Wales – Wales
Demi-lee Falconer – University of Stirling – Scotland
Annabel Johnson – Durham University – England
Shannon Sievwright – University of Chichester – England
Eloise Wilson – Buckinghamshire New University – England


Lily Agg – University of Brighton – England
Georgia Evans – University of Gloucestershire – Wales
Madelaine Hill – Northumbria University – England
Emma Kelly – Northumbria University – England
Rhema Lord-Mears – University of Huddersfield – England
Katy Morris – University of Stirling – England


Chloe Dixon – University of Barnsley – England
Tyler Dodds – Northumbria University – England
Olivia Fergusson – University of the West of England – England
Kirsty Howat – University of Edinburgh – Scotland
Bethan Merrick – University College Birmingham – England
Lucy Quinn – University of Chichester – England

Coaching Staff 

Lydia Bedford – Head Coach
Michelle Cook – Team Manager
Grant Scott – Assistant Coach
Tony O’Neill – Goalkeeping Coach
Lauren Smith – Technical Analyst
Corinne Yorston – Physical Performance Coach

Source / photo –