South East Counties Women’s League Expands

For the 2017-18 season, the South East Counties League has introduced a third division in its Kent section, taking the membership to 54 teams overall.

Parkwood Rangers were promoted to the London & South East Counties as Premier Division champions, Long Lane were relegated to Division 1 East, while Abbey Rangers drop out.

Kent Football United and Worthing Ladies (pictured above) go up to the Premier Division but basement side Worthing Town and Eastern champions Gillingham Academy have not entered.

Maidstone United and Margate go up to Division 1 East after taking the top spots in the Kent section, Barnehurst-based Phoenix Sports join but Thanet Colts drop into Kent Division 1.

Sussex League winners Oakwood will get a regional league debut in Division 1 West, where Carshalton Athletic Development and Dorking Wanderers are also newcomers.

A rush of new names in the Kent section see the wonderfully titled Petts Wood Honeybuzzards from the Kent U-18 League and Thamesview from Rochester come into Division 1, Diamond United Blues and Sheerness-based Oasis Community Reds (formerly Red Heart) compete in the East, with London Kent Football United Development and Nomads Association in the West.

PREMIER DIVISION – Ashford, Bexhill United, Chichester City Development Squad, Crawley Wasps Reserves, Eastbourne LFC, Hassocks, Herne Bay, Kent Football United, Meridian Girls, Worthing LFC

DIVISION 1 EAST – Anchorians, Cray Valley, Dartford, Faversham Strike Force, Glebe, Long Lane, Maidstone United, Margate, Phoenix Sports, Swale

DIVISION 1 WEST – AFC Varndeanians, Bexhill United Reserves, Burgess Hill Town, Carshalton Athletic Development, Cowfold, Dorking Wanderers, Lewes Foundation Squad, Milford & Witley, Oakwood

KENT DIVISION 1 – Barming Youth, Castle Colts, Long Lane Development, Petts Wood Honeybuzzards, Teynham Gunners, Thamesview, Thanet Colts, Tonbridge Angels, Vinters

KENT DIVISION 2 EAST – Ashford Angels, Aylesford Reserves, Betteshanger Welfare, Diamond United Blues, Larkfield, Oasis Community Reds, Swale 2nds, University Of Kent

KENT DIVISION 2 WEST – Anchorians Developement, Gravesham, Guru Nanak, Kent Football United Woodpecker, London Kent Football United Development, Nomads Association, Orpington, Sevenoaks Town U-18s

The league season begins on 3rd September and all the fixtures can be found here.

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter