Republic of Ireland U-19 squad for double-header in Yorkshire


Republic of Ireland U-19 Head Coach Dave Connell has confirmed a 20-player squad for a mini tournament in Yorkshire.

Connell’s side are set to face Northern Ireland on Saturday 14 July at 6pm, before they face England on four days later, kick-off 12.30pm at Queen Ethelburga’s Collegiate.

Connell has named a number of players who’ve recently been selected for the senior squad, including Peamount United winger Heather Payne and Sion Swifts midfielder Amy Boyle-Carr.

Doireann Fahey, who recently moved to Wexford Youths from Peamount United, has also been called up as well as Isibeal Atkinson who made her senior debut in the 0-0 draw against Norway in June.

Connell told “We’re looking forward to the tournament as it should provide the perfect challenge for us. We’ve got to look forward and the next challenge for us is the 2018 European Championship qualifiers so we’re constantly assessing in preparation for that.

“We’ve got some great experience in the squad as well with the likes of Heather Payne and Isibeal Atkinson who’ve recently done so well for the senior squad. There are a number of players making the step-up to the level as well from the Under 17s so it’s a good mix.

“Of course, they will be two difficult games for us but a lot of our players are currently in season with their clubs so hopefully they’ll be able to bring their club form into the two games.”

Republic of Ireland U-19 Squad

Goalkeepers: Erica Turner (UCD Waves), Rachel Kelly (Shelbourne)

Defenders: Aoife Slattery (Wexford Youths), Sadhbh Doyle (Galway, Roisin McGovern (UCD Waves), Leah Brady (Galway), Doireann Fahey (Wexford), Rachel Baynes (Galway).

Midfielders: Megan Mackey (Brighton & Hove Albion), Lucia Lobato (Galway), Heather Payne (Peamount United), Amy Boyle Carr (Sion Swifts), Orla Casey (Wexford), Chloe Singleton (Galway), Isibeal Atkinson (Shelbourne), Sinead Donavan (Galway).

Forwards: Carla McManus (Kilkenny United), Louise Masterson (Peamount United), Alannah McEvoy (Shelbourne), Aoife Thompson (Galway).

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter