Northern Ireland Women’s U-19s and U-17s head to Turkey

Lauren Perry brings senior experience to Northern Ireland U-19s
Lauren Perry brings senior experience to the Northern Ireland U-19 squad. (Photo:

Northern Ireland’s Women’s U-19s and U-17s are to compete in tournaments at the Gold City Sports Complex in Alanya on Turkey’s southern coast starting 4 March.

With the Northern Ireland senior side at the Pinatar Cup in Spain next week, Alfie Wylie’s U-19s are replacing them at the Gold City Cup this year, while the U-17s are stepping up an age-level in the Mediterranean Pearls U-19 tournament.

Wylie’s U-19 squad includes Blackburn Rovers goalkeeper Lauren Perry, who already has several senior caps under her belt, and a raft of players with NIFL Women’s Premiership experience. He will also be overseeing the U-17 squad, which features several up and coming young players, reports

The U-19s will get their Gold Cup campaign under way on Wednesday 4 March with a match against Kenya (6pm local time) before facing the Ghanaians next Saturday (6pm) and then Chile on Tuesday 10 March (3pm start).

The U-17s will be in action against Belarus on Wednesday (3pm) and Slovakia next Saturday (11am), with the placement matches the following Monday or Tuesday.

Northern Ireland WU19 squad:

Goalkeepers – Lauren Perry (Blackburn Rovers), Maddie Clifford-Harvey (Crusaders Strikers).

Defenders – Beth Chalmers, Kirsty Cameron and Sasha Clare (all Crusaders Strikers), Fi Morgan and Shona Davis (both Cliftonville), Naomi Donnan (Linfield), Aimee-Lee Peachey (Glentoran).

Midfielders – Beth Smyth (Manchester City), Mia Fitzsimmons (Linfield), Jessica Rea and Holly Otter (both Crusaders Strikers), Grainne O’Casey (from FC Dallas), Caitlin Chapman (Stoke City), Sophie Megaw (Lisburn Rangers).

Forwards – Joely Andrews and Kerry Beattie (both Glentoran), Cora Morgan (Linfield), Faith Johnston (Crusaders Strikers).

Northern Ireland WU17 squad:

Goalkeepers – Rachel Norney (Cliftonville), Kaccie Griffin (West Bromwich Albion).

Defenders – Ella Haughey, Aimee Neal and Caoimhe Mulholland (all Lisburn Rangers), Grace McKimm (Linfield), Grace Clancy (Manchester City).

Midfielders – Freja Scott (Needham Market), Ellie Mae Dickson and Helen Parker (Lisburn Rangers), Erin Montgomery (Cliftonville), Eve Reilly (Windmill Stars), Leah Wilgaus (Crusaders Strikers), Sienna Leckey (Linfield), Kelsey Chambers (Carnmoney).

Forwards – Mia Rowan (Linfield), Maura Paterson (Glasgow Girls), Cara Tumelty (Lisburn Rangers).

#ContiCup: Chelsea Women lift trophy after stoppage-time winner

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter