Nine uncapped players in Wales Women’s squad for Portugal trip

PA Images.

Wales manager Jayne Ludlow has named nine uncapped players in the squad to travel to Portugal for two international friendlies later this month.

The games take place on 10th November at the Municipal Stadium Rio Maior at 6pm and then three days later at the Municipal Stadium Cova De Piedade with a 3pm kick off.

The FAW says that Ludlow will be resting experienced players Jess Fishlock and Loren Dykes to allow other players within a camp environment and competitive game fixtures while Tottenham Hotspur midfielder Megan Wynne is back in the squad after winning her last Wales cap against Scotland in 2013. Meanwhile, Rachel Rowe will be missing out as she recovers from injury.

The squad was announced by children from all over Wales who were inspired as the side narrowly missing out on a place in the 2019 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

Both matches will now be fully capped friendlies after the original announcement of a B international and an A international.

Wales squad: Laura O’Sullivan (Cardiff City LFC), Claire Skinner (Cardiff City FC Women), Olivia Clarke (Nettleham), Emma Gibbon (Tottenham Hotspur), Sophie Ingle (Chelsea), Hayley Ladd (Birmingham City), Rhiannon Roberts (Liverpool), Gemma Evans (Bristol City), Natasha Harding (Reading), Angharad James (Everton), Kylie Nolan (Cardiff City LFC), Nadia Lawrence (Cardiff City LFC), Helen Ward (Watford), Kayleigh Green (Brighton & Hove Albion), Charlie Estcourt (Reading), Hannah Miles (Cardiff City LFC), Cori Williams (Cardiff City LFC), Kelly Isaac (Cardiff City LFC), Megan Wynne (Tottenham Hotspur), Emma Jones (Unattached), Grace Horrell (Cardiff City LFC), Ella Powell (Georgia State University), Elise Hughes (Everton), Chloe Williams (Wolverhampton Wanderers), Ffion Morgan (Cardiff City LFC), Tamsyn Sibanda (Arsenal).

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter