Nikita Parris wins FWA Women’s Footballer of the Year award

Nikita Parris in action for England vs Brazil during the SheBelieves Cup.

Manchester City and England forward, Nikita Parris, has won the Women’s Footballer of the Year award from the Football Writers’ Association.

The 25-year-old won by the narrowest of margins from Arsenal & Netherlands striker Vivianne Miedema and will receive the trophy at a ceremony in the Landmark Hotel in London on 9 May.

The award is decided by a two-stage poll of a panel of experts and Parris emerged as the clear favourite from the first phase, gaining at least ten votes more than the next contender. Parris then won by a single vote (11-10) in the second stage.

Steph Houghton, England and Manchester City captain, was third. Other votes in the first stage were cast for Beth Mead, Danielle van de Donk, Leah Williamson (all Arsenal), Magdalena Ericsson, Erin Cuthbert, Karen Carney, Fran Kirby (all Chelsea), Georgia Stanway (Man City), Lucy Bronze (Lyon) and Toni Duggan (Barcelona).

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter