Megan Campbell returns to Ireland squad after long-term injury

Man City's Megan Campbell
PA Images

Republic of Ireland manager Vera Pauw has brought 27 players into camp for the 2022 UEFA Women’s European Championship Qualifier against Germany.

Defender Megan Campbell returns after making a comeback from long-term injury. The Manchester City ace last featured for Ireland in the 3-2 win over Ukraine in October 2019,

Injury rules out midfielder Megan Connolly, while Hayley Nolan and Alli Murphy are considered close contacts following a COVID case at London City Lionesses and Kyra Carusa is unable to travel into Ireland due to COVID protocols in Denmark.

The defensive duo of Louise Quinn and Harriet Scott are due to link up with the squad this week.

Preparations began on Sunday, November 22nd at the FAI National Training Centre for what is the final game in this Group for Pauw’s team.

Germany have already been confirmed as Group I winners, which means that the runner-up spot and a Qualifying Play-Off is now between second-placed Ireland (13 points) and third-placed Ukraine (12 points).

On Tuesday 1 December, Ireland will host Germany while Ukraine play Montenegro. Pauw’s team currently hold a better goal difference so they need to equal or better Ukraine’s result in order to seal second spot.

The game is being televised live by RTE2, with a 5pm kick-off.

Republic of Ireland squad

Goalkeepers: Marie Hourihan (SC Braga), Courtney Brosnan (West Ham United), Grace Moloney (Reading), Niamh Reid-Burke (Peamount United)

Defenders: Harriet Scott (Birmingham City), Keeva Keenan (Celtic), Claire Walsh (Peamount United), Louise Quinn (Fiorentina), Diane Caldwell (SC Sand), Claire O’Riordan (MSV Duisburg), Megan Campbell (Manchester City), Eabha O’Mahony (Cork City), Isibeal Atkinson (Shelbourne), Aine O’Gorman (Peamount United)

Midfielders: Niamh Fahey (Liverpool), Jamie Finn (Shelbourne), Denise O’Sullivan (Brighton & Hove Albion – on loan from NC Courage), Niamh Farrelly (Peamount United), Ruesha Littlejohn (Leicester City), Ellen Molloy (Wexford Youths), Jessica Ziu (Shelbourne), Emily Whelan (Shelbourne)

Forwards: Katie McCabe (Arsenal), Heather Payne (Florida State University), Leanne Kiernan (West Ham United), Amber Barrett (FC Koln), Rianna Jarrett (Brighton & Hove Albion)

Self-isolating Shelley Kerr to miss two Scotland #WEURO2022 qualifiers

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter