Irish Go Down 4-1 In Finland

The Republic of Ireland defence worked hard early on with Emma Byrne and Louise Quinn combining to keep out Nora Heroum, while Katie McCabe was quick to block Linda Sallstrom’s follow up with nine minutes on the clock.

Ireland started to get more into the game as the half progressed, Denise O’Sullivan connecting with McCabe’s left wing cross on 21 minutes but failed to trouble Finland’s Tinja-Riikka Korpela.

Megan Connolly saw her 25 yard effort sail just over the Finnish cross bar eight minutes later as the Irish midfield started to cause Finland problems in the evening sun.

The Finns took the lead on 32 minutes somewhat against the run of play, Sallstrom finding space down the Irish left.

From the touch line Sallstrom pull-back cross was headed home by the on rushing Emmi Alanen who diving header flew past the reach of Ireland captain Emma Byrne.

Finland doubled their lead three minutes before half-time, Hyyrynen playing a one two with Kuikka whose cross found Jenny-Julia Danielsson free in the box who volleyed home.

Finland picked up where they left off in the second half Kuikka worked her way into the Irish penalty area with a little trick. Emma Byrne and Louise Quinn clean up the danger.

Natalia Kuikka made it 3-0 to the hosts on 71 minutes, Ireland’s attack was undone as Emmi Alanen led a counter-attack down the Irish left and found Kuikka who finished.

Second half substitute Stephanie Roche gave Ireland hope with 14 minutes remaining, Roche planting a header past Korpela having connected with Sophie Perry’s cross.

Linda Sallstrom sealed the victory for Finland with three minutes remaining. Ria Oling catching Ireland out down their left hand side before finding Sallstrom who finished past Byrne.

Finland: Korpela, Hyyrynen, Westerlund, Saari, Kukkonen, Engman (Oling 81), Alanen, Heroum, Kulka, Danielsson, Sallstrom (Franssi 88)

Subs Not Used: Vallmaa, Painilaninen, Ahtinen, Kempii, Saarinen,

Republic of Ireland: Emma Byrne, Sophie Perry, Louise Quinn, Niamh Fahey, Meabh De Burca, Julie-Ann Russell (Ruesha Littlejohn HT), Denise O’Sullivan (Fiona O’Sullivan 64), Diane Caldwell, Megan Connolly, Katie McCabe, Aine O’Gorman (Stephanie Roche 74)

Subs not used: Niamh Reid-Burke, Jetta Berrill, Emma Hansberry, Savannah McCarthy

Source –