First fans’ Women’s Team of the Year announced

Pernille Harder and Lucy Bronze in fans' team of the year
Pernille Harder and Lucy Bronze are two of the current WSL players in the fans’ Team of the Year. (PA Images)

The first fans’ Women’s Team of the Year has been revealed and includes four players currently competing in the Barclays FA WSL.

The winning side reflects the votes of the fans in parallel with players’ achievements over the course of 2020, and were validated based on input from a UEFA technical observer panel throughout the course of the year.

Sarah Bouhaddi (Lyon & France)

UEFA Women’s Champions League inaugural Goalkeeper of the Season, letting in only seven goals all year.

Lucy Bronze (Lyon/Manchester City & England)

The 2020 FIFA player of the year won the UWCL with Lyon before returning to Manchester City and lifting the Vitality FA Women’s Cup.

Kadeisha Buchanan (Lyon & Canada)

Replaced injured central defender Griedge Mbock Bathy as Lyon made it another clean sweep of trophies, and won her 100th Canada cap at the age of 24.

Wendie Renard (Lyon & France)

UWCL Defender of the Season and competition appearance record-holder, who was cited by President Emmanuel Macron in his new year address as someone who made the nation “dream in this grey period”.

Magdalena Eriksson (Chelsea & Sweden)

Captained Chelsea to FA WSL, Conti Cup and Community Shield successes, also helped Sweden qualify for EURO 2022.

Kheira Hamraoui (Barcelona & France)

Barcelona’s holding midfielder whose goalscoring heroics led to the UWCL quarter-final win over Spanish rivals Atlético Madrid.

Amandine Henry (Lyon & France)

Hard-working midfielder who was crucial to Lyon’s latest successes, even if injury in the UWCL quarter-finals ruled her out of the rest of the August tournament.

Sara Björk Gunnarsdóttir (Wolfsburg/Lyon & Iceland)

Midfielder who won the league with Wolfsburg before joining Lyon in July and lifting the UWCL trophy against her former side.  Helped her country qualify for EURO 2022 and was voted Iceland’s sportsperson of 2020.

Daniëlle van de Donk (Arsenal & Netherlands)

Versatile who contributed some crucial assists for the Gunners, as well as a mainstay of the Netherlands side that sealed a EURO 2022 place in style.

Delphine Cascarino (Lyon & France)

Pacy winger who recorded the fastest two sprints in the UWCL, was named Player of the Match in the final as she set up the first two goals.

Pernille Harder (Wolfsburg/Chelsea & Denmark)

UEFA Women’s Player of the Year and UWCL Forward of the Season, who helped Denmark qualify for EURO 2022.

#ContiCup: Chelsea Women win through to semi-finals after extra-time

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter