FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup 2022 draw made

FIFA U20 Women's World Cup 2022 draw made
Photo: DAMIEN MEYER/AFP via Getty Images

The draw has been made for the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup 2022, which takes place in Costa Rica from 10 to 28 August.

Costa Rica will kick off their campaign and the tournament against Australia, and will be joined by Brazil and Spain in Group A. Reigning champions, Japan, were drawn in Group D together with Netherlands, Ghana and USA.

Group A – Costa Rica, Australia, Brazil, Spain

Group B – Germany, Colombia, New Zealand, Mexico

Group C – France, Nigeria, Canada, South Korea

Group D – Japan, Netherlands, Ghana, USA.

As the first FIFA draw to be live-streamed on FIFA+, the star-studded event featured a celebration of women’s football and Costa Rican culture, as well as messages from President of the Republic of Costa Rica, Mr Carlos Alvarado Quesada, FEDEFUTBOL President, Rodolfo Villalobos, and FIFA President, Gianni Infantino.

Athlete and TV presenter Johanna Solano, presented the draw and was joined by Costa Rican football icons Shirley Cruz and Paulo César Wanchope along with draw conductor Jaime Yarza, FIFA’s Director of Tournaments.

Women’s County Leagues: Ten more champions

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter