FIFA Football Award Finalists Announced

The finalists for The Best FIFA Football Awards™ were announced today in London with FIFA Legends Andriy Shevchenko, Peter Shilton, Jay Jay Okocha, Alex Scott and Roberto Di Matteo. 

Finalists for Best FIFA Women’s Football Award are:

• The Best FIFA Women’s Player:

Deyna Castellanos (Venezuela/Santa Clarita Blue Heat/Florida State Seminoles)
Carli Lloyd (USA/Houston Dash/Manchester City Women)
Lieke Martens (Netherlands/FC Rosengard/FC Barcelona)

• The Best FIFA Women’s Coach:

Nils Nielsen (Denmark/Danish national team)
Gerard Precheur (France/Olympique Lyonnais)
Sarina Wiegman (Netherlands/Dutch national team)

Among those to miss the cut for the player award are Lucy Bronze, Jody Taylor, Dzsenifer Marozsán and Vivianne Miedema, while Emma Hayes had been shortlisted for the coach category.

Meanwhile, Deyna Castellanos is also in contention for the year’s best goal, being the one woman shortlisted with nine male candidates.

• FIFA Puskás Award:

Kevin-Prince Boateng (Ghana/Las Palmas/23.10.2016)
Alejandro Camargo (Argentina/Universidad de Conception/04.12.2016)
Deyna Castellanos (Venezuela/Venezuela U-17 Women national team/24.10.2016)
Moussa Dembele (France/Celtic FC/05.02.2017)
Olivier Giroud (France/Arsenal/01.01.2017)
Aviles Hurtado (Colombia/Tijuana Xolos/01.04.2017)
Mario Mandzukic (Croatia/Juventus/03.06.2017)
Oscarine Masuluke (South Africa/Baroka FC/30.11.2016)
Nemanja Matic (Serbia/Chelsea/23.04.2017)
Jordi Mboula (Spain/ FC Barcelona Youth/22.02.2017)

The Best FIFA Football Awards ceremony will take place at the London Palladium on Monday, 23 October. The event will be streamed live on and FIFA’s YouTube channel.

The voting for the FIFA Puskás Award is now open on

Source / image –