Bell Names 21-Player #IRLWNT Squad for Netherlands

Republic of Ireland Head Coach Colin Bell has named a 21-player squad for the upcoming FIFA 2019 World Cup qualifier against the Netherlands.

Ireland are set to face the Netherlands on Tuesday 28th November, with kick-off at 7pm (8pm local time), at De Goffert in Nijmegen,

The EURO 2017 winners are set to face Ireland in front of a sell-out 12,000 crowd after they started their campaign with a 1-0 victory over Norway in October.

Ireland go into the game unbeaten in their campaign so far, having picked up 2-0 wins over Northern Ireland and Slovakia in the first two games.

Bell has made just one change, with Cork City goalkeeper Amanda Budden recalled to the squad after she missed the trip to Slovakia due to college commitments, replacing fellow Cork custodian Eve Badana.

The squad includes ten National League players who’ve have been training at FAI HQ, Abbotstown in home-based sessions, with a selection of U-19 and U-17 internationals since the WNL season ended at the start of November.

Republic of Ireland Head Coach Colin Bell told “When the draw was made, the game against the Netherlands was always one which is going to excite the players and the staff.

“Since the draw, they won the European Championships in the summer and also beat the top seeds Norway in their first qualifying game so we know we’re set to face one of the best teams in the world at the moment.

“However, we’ve demonstrated in our first two games of the campaign how good we are and we need to carry that confidence into the game. We’ve kept two clean sheets, both away from home, and we’ll need to show those same qualities in the Netherlands to get a result.

“The players will report in on Monday so we can take advantage of the full international window and have the best preparation ahead of what will be one of the most difficult tests of our campaign.”

Republic of Ireland squad to face Netherlands

Goalkeepers: Marie Hourihan (Manchester City), Amanda Budden (Cork City), Amanda McQuillan (Shelbourne)

Defenders: Harriet Scott (Reading), Megan Campbell (Manchester City), Sophie Perry (Brighton & Hove Albion), Diane Caldwell, (SC Sand), Louise Quinn (Arsenal), Claire Walsh (UCD Waves).

Midfielders: Tyler Toland (Maiden City), Niamh Fahey (Bordeaux), Karen Duggan (UCD Waves), Denise O’Sullivan (NC Courage), Roma McLaughlin (Shelbourne).

Attackers: Katie McCabe (Arsenal, on loan at Glasgow City), Leanne Kiernan (Shelbourne), Heather Payne (Peamount United), Amber Barrett (Peamount United), Claire O’Riordan (Wexford Youths), Isibeal Atkinson (Shelbourne), Ruesha Littlejohn (Celtic).

Upcoming Events

Would you like to read more women’s football news just like this? Sign up to receive the She Kicks Women’s Football newsletter